Email Print Share

Staff Directory

Lynnette D. Madsen

Lynnette D. Madsen portrait
(703) 292-4936
(703) 292-9035
E 9469
Program Director

Program Responsibilities:
Crosscutting Activities in Materials Research (XC)
Division of Materials Research: Topical Materials Research Programs: Ceramics (CER), Electronic and Photonic Materials (EPM), Solid State and Materials Chemistry (SSMC) (DMR-TMRP CER, EPM, SSMC)


Lynnette D. Madsen received a B.A.Sc. (Elec. Eng.) and a B.A. (Psychology) from the University of Waterloo, an M.Eng. (Electronics) from Carleton University, and a Ph.D. (Materials Science) from McMaster University. Her accomplishments were recognized with a Professional Achievement Alumni Medal from the Faculty of Engineering at the University of Waterloo (in 2013) and an Alumni Gallery Award from McMaster University (in 2018). She has 2 published books, 3 book chapters/sections, and more than 100 articles; been awarded 3 patents; and delivered more than 125 invited talks. Her research spans epitaxial and pseudomorphic thin films, combinatorial nanomaterials science applied to magnetic recording media, contact formation to silicon carbide, and nanoscale graphite intercalation compounds. Research support has been provided by funding agencies as well as industry (ABB, Siemens and Nortel Networks).

Since 2000, she has worked at the National Science Foundation (NSF) as a Program Director in Materials Research. She leads Cross-Cutting Activities in Materials Research. Her additional programmatic responsibilities are ceramics, composites, and inorganic glasses. Her areas of expertise include sustainability, clean energy, nanotechnology, manufacturing, international cooperation, diversity, and education. Throughout her tenure at NSF, she has maintained an active independent research program. From 1999-2002, she held a visiting/adjunct faculty position at Carnegie Mellon University. Previously, she held a faculty position at Linköping University in Sweden where she was promoted to Docent (Associate Professor), and earlier she held post-doctoral positions at both Linköping University and the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. The first decade of her career was spent in industry at Nortel Networks (Canada).

Dr. Madsen is a Fellow of American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), The American Ceramic Society (ACerS), the American Vacuum Society (AVS), Materials Research Society (MRS), and the Washington Academy of Sciences (WAS), and a Senior Member of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE). NSF has recognized her efforts with two Director Awards, more than a dozen Performance Awards and an Incentive Award for Timely Program Management. She received the 2020 Acta Materialia Hollomon Award for Materials and Society. Additionally, her accomplishments have been recognized by international organizations: the Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology (ABET), ACerS, ASM International, AVS, the Materials Research Society (MRS), the Minerals, Metals & Materials Society (TMS), and the Women in Engineering ProActive Network (WEPAN), and by national and local organizations: the District of Columbia Council of Engineering and Architectural Societies (DCCEAS), the Society of Hispanic Professional Engineers (SHPE), WAS, and Women in Technology (WIT). She has served as a panelist for the National Research Council at the National Academies, as a Trustee for AVS, on the Board of Directors for ACerS, and as Board Secretary for WAS. Currently, Dr. Madsen serves on the Advisory Board for the Rosalind Franklin Society and on the Editorial Board for Materials Today.

Additional Current Responsibilities FY 2020 (Oct. 2019 to Sept. 2020):
* NSF Lead, ICCCRD (interagency meeting on ceramics)
* NSF Lead, team focused on Materials for Extreme Environments for NSF – Air Force cooperation
* Chair, Division of Materials Research (DMR) Diversity and Education Activities Working Group, since 2014
* Lead, DMR Shop Talks
* Member, DMR International Engagement Working Group
* Co-Lead, DMR REU Sites
* Co-Management of Science and Technology Center
* Editorial Board, Materials Today, since 2017
* Advisory Board, Rosalind Franklin Society, since 2008