Staff Directory

Zhengdao Wang

Zhengdao Wang portrait
(703) 292-7823
(703) 292-9137
C 12041
Program Director

Program Responsibilities:
Communications, Circuits, and Sensing-Systems (CCSS)
Foundational Research in Robotics (Robotics)
NSF Engineering - UKRI Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council Lead Agency Opportunity (ENG-EPSRC)
Spectrum and Wireless Innovation enabled by Future Technologies (SWIFT)
Stimulating Collaborative Advances Leveraging Expertise in the Mathematical and Scientific Foundations of Deep Learning (SCALE MoDL)


Zhengdao Wang joined the NSF as a program director in January 2020. He is a professor with the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Iowa State University. His interests are in the areas of signal processing, communications, information theory, machine learning and their applications. He has served as an Associate Editor for several journals, including IEEE Transactions on Vehicular Technology IEEE Signal Processing Letters, IEEE Transactions on Signal Processing, IEEE Transactions on Wireless Communications, and an Editor for The IEEE Signal Processing Society Online Video Library. He was a Technical Program co-chair for GLOBECOM 2008 Wireless Communications Symposium, a Technical Program co-chair for WUWNet 2014, a Technical Area co-Chair on Wireless Communications for Asilomar Conference 2014, and the Publications and Publicity chair for IEEE GlobalSIP 2014. He was a member of the IEEE Signal Processing for Communication and Networking (SPCOM) Technical Committee from 2007 to 2012. He served as the Regional Director at Large of the IEEE Signal Processing Society for Regions 1-6 (US) in 2017 and 2018. He was a General co-chair of IEEE GLOBECOM 2018 Workshop on Machine Learning for Communications. He is serving as a TPC co-chair for IEEE SPAWC 2020. He has received the IEEE Signal Processing Society Best Magazine Paper Award in 2003, the IEEE Marconi Paper Prize Award in Wireless Communications in 2004, and the EURASIP Journal on Advances in Signal Processing Best Paper Award in 2008. He is an IEEE Fellow of class 2016.