text-only page produced automatically by LIFT Text Transcoder Skip all navigation and go to page contentSkip top navigation and go to directorate navigationSkip top navigation and go to page navigation
National Science Foundation Home National Science Foundation - Engineering (ENG)
Engineering (ENG)
design element
ENG Home
About ENG
Funding Opportunities
Advisory Committee
Career Opportunities
EFRI Program
See Additional ENG Resources
View ENG Staff
ENG Organizations
Chemical, Bioengineering, Environmental, and Transport Systems (CBET)
Civil, Mechanical and Manufacturing Innovation (CMMI)
Electrical, Communications and Cyber Systems (ECCS)
Engineering Education and Centers (EEC)
Emerging Frontiers and Multidisciplinary Activities (EFMA)
Industrial Innovation and Partnerships (IIP)
Proposals and Awards
Proposal and Award Policies and Procedures Guide
Proposal Preparation and Submission
bullet Grant Proposal Guide
  bullet Grants.gov Application Guide
Award and Administration
bullet Award and Administration Guide
Award Conditions
Other Types of Proposals
Merit Review
NSF Outreach
Policy Office
Additional ENG Resources
NSF National Nanotechnology Initiative
Other Site Features
Special Reports
Research Overviews
Multimedia Gallery
Classroom Resources
NSF-Wide Investments

Email this pagePrint this page
Staff Directory

Directorate for Engineering  (ENG/OAD)

Phone: (703) 292-8300 | Fax: (703) 292-9013 | Room: 505 N

Expand this list
Assistant Director
Pramod Khargonekar (703) 292-8300 505 N pkhargon@nsf.gov
Deputy Assistant Director
Grace Jinliu Wang (703) 292-8300 505 N jiwang@nsf.gov
Senior Advisor for Nanotechnology
Mihail C. Roco (703) 292-7032 505 N mroco@nsf.gov
Staff Associate for Budget/EPSCoR
Darren Dutterer (703) 292-4494 505 N dduttere@nsf.gov
Administrative Manager (detailed to OLPA)
Wanda A. Smith (703) 292-7282 1245 S wasmith@nsf.gov
AAAS S&TP Fellow
Louise R. Howe (703) 292-2548 513 lhowe@nsf.gov
Administrative Assistant
Elise Brege (703) 292-4609 505 N ebrege@associates.nsf.gov
Program Director, Evaluation and Assessment (On-Detail to OD/OIA)
Alexandra Medina-Borja (703) 292-7557 935 N amedinab@nsf.gov
Senior Advisor
Sohi Rastegar (703) 292-5379 505 S srastega@nsf.gov
Associate Program Director
Grace Yuan (703) 292-5099 505.23 N gyuan@nsf.gov
Executive Assistant to the Assistant Director
Evette Rollins (703) 292-2105 505 N erollins@nsf.gov
Summer Intern
Anthony Windmon (703) 292-8300 505 awindmon@nsf.gov
Usha Lalam (703) 292-7156 505 N ulalam@associates.nsf.gov
Directorate Operations Officer
Judy A. Hayden (703) 292-7363 505 N jhayden@nsf.gov
Geoffrey A. Prentice 840 gprentic@nsf.gov
Science Writer-Editor
Cecile J. Gonzalez (703) 292-8538 505 N cjgonzal@nsf.gov
Student Trainee (Admin Supt Asst)
Byron P. Atkinson (703) 292-2479 505.19 N batkinso@nsf.gov
Kesh S. Narayanan knarayan@nsf.gov
Pathways Summer Student
Nachelle Vinson (703) 292-4286 505 N nvinson@nsf.gov

Division of Chemical, Bioengineering, Environmental, and Transport Systems
Phone: (703) 292-8320

  • Administrative Unit 
  • Biomedical Engineering and Engineering Healthcare 
  • Chemical and Biochemical Systems 
  • Environmental Engineering and Sustainability 
  • Transport, Thermal, and Fluid Phenomena 

Division of Civil, Mechanical & Manufacturing Innovation
Phone: (703) 292-8360

  • Administrative Unit 
  • Materials Engineering and Processing 
  • Biomechanics and Mechanobiology Program 
  • Resilient and Sustainable Infrastructures Cluster 
  • System Engineering and Design Cluster 
  • Mechanics and Engineering Materials Cluster 
  • Advanced Manufacturing Cluster 
  • Materials Engineering and Processing 
  • Sensors, Dynamics and Control 
  • Nano and Bio Mechanics 

Division of Electrical, Communications & Cyber Systems
Phone: (703) 292-8339

  • Energy, Power, and Adaptive Systems (EPAS) 
  • Electronics, Photonics and Magnetic Devices (EPMD) 
  • Communications, Circuits, and Sensing Systems (CCSS) 

Division of Engineering Education & Centers
Phone: (703) 292-8380

  • Engineering Education Research 
  • Engineering Research Centers Program 
  • Engineering Workforce Development 
  • Administrative Staff 

Division of Industrial Innovation & Partnerships
Phone: (703) 292-8050

  • Industry/University Cooperative Research Centers Program 
  • Small Business Innovation Research (SBIR) and Small Business Technology Transfer Program (STTR) 
  • Partnerships for Innovation Program 
  • Administrative Group 
  • Contract Support 
  • Grant Opportunities for Academic Liaison with Industry (GOALI) 
  • Office of Small Business Research and Development/Office of Small Business Disadvantaged Business Utilization 
  • Innovation Corps (I-Corps) 

Office of Emerging Frontiers and Multidisciplinary Activities
Phone: (703) 292-8305

  • Flexible Bioelectronics Systems (BioFlex) 
  • Origami Design for Integration of Self-Assembling Systems for Engineering Innovation (ODISSEI) 
  • Photosynthetic Biorefineries (PSBR) 
  • Multicellular and Inter-Kingdom Signaling (MIKS) 
  • Mind, Machines, and Motor Control (M3C) 
  • Renewal Energy Storage (RESTOR) 
  • Science In Energy and Environmental Design (SEED) 
  • BioSensing & BioActuation: Interface of Living and Engineered System (BSBA) 
  • Hydrocarbons from Biomass (HyBi) 
  • Cognitive Optimization and Prediction (COPN) 
  • Resilient and Sustainable Infrastructures (RESIN) 
  • Autonomously Reconfigurable Engineered Systems (ARES) 
  • Cellular and Biomolecular Engineering (CBE) 

Search Staff Directory

Email this pagePrint this page
Back to Top of page