Staff Directory

Directorate for Biological Sciences  (BIO/OAD)

Phone: (703) 292-8400 | Fax: (703) 292-9154 | Room: C 12000 | Website

Directorate for Biological Sciences list
Acting Assistant Director
Simon Malcomber
(703) 292-8227 C 12006 smalcomb@nsf.gov
Acting Deputy Assistant Director
Theresa A Good
(703) 292-2450 C 12004 tgood@nsf.gov
Directorate Operations Officer
Reyda P Gonzalez-Nieves
(703) 292-7183 C 12022 rpgonzal@nsf.gov
Directorate Administrative Coordinator
Erika Chiang
(703) 292-7770 C 12018 erchiang@nsf.gov
Staff Associate
Montona L Futrell-Griggs
(703) 292-7162 W 12217 mfutrell@nsf.gov
Communications Specialist
Jared M Dashoff
(703) 292-4523 C 12014 jdashoff@nsf.gov
Management and Program Analyst
Alexis Patullo
(703) 292-2265 C 12015A apatullo@nsf.gov
IT Specialist
Eric Goulette
(703) 292-4232 C 12017A egoulett@nsf.gov
IT Computer Specialist
Jeffrey J. Lawson
(703) 292-7915 C 12015B jlawson@nsf.gov
Program Assistant
Melody C Jenkins
(703) 292-7362 C 12017B mjenkins@nsf.gov
Executive Assistant
Alicia Hightower
(703) 292-4795 C 12000A ahightow@nsf.gov

Division of Molecular & Cellular Biosciences  (BIO/MCB)

Phone: (703) 292-8440 | Fax: (703) 292-9061 | Room: E 12400External Website

Division of Molecular & Cellular Biosciences list
Acting Division Director
Karen C Cone
(703) 292-4967 E 12461 kccone@nsf.gov
Deputy Division Director
Casonya M Johnson
E 12485 casjohns@nsf.gov
Science Associate
Adrienne Cheng
E 12474 acheng@nsf.gov
Science Assistant
Olaf Corning
(703) 292-2894 Offsite ocorning@nsf.gov
Operations Manager
Rosetta W Rhine
(703) 292-7391 E 12467 rwrhine@nsf.gov
Program Assistant
Marielle Robinson
(703) 292-7060 E 12484B marrobin@nsf.gov

Cellular Dynamics and Function  (BIO/MCB)

Phone: (703) 292-8440 | Fax: (703) 292-9061

Cellular Dynamics and Function list
Program Director
Matthew John Buechner
(703) 292-4675 O ffsite mbuechne@nsf.gov
Program Director
Richard James Cyr
(703) 292-8440 Offsite rcyr@nsf.gov
Program Director
Charles Cunningham
(703) 292-2283 E 12479 chacunni@nsf.gov
Program Director
Loretta Jackson-Hayes
(703) 292-4286 E 12476 lojackso@nsf.gov

Cellular Dynamics and Function Administrative Staff 

Phone: (703) 292-8440


Genetic Mechanisms  (BIO/MCB)

Phone: (703) 292-8440 | Fax: (703) 292-9061

Genetic Mechanisms list
Program Director
Clifford Weil
(703) 292-4668 E 12483 cweil@nsf.gov
Program Director
Manju M Hingorani
703-292-7323 E12469 mhingora@nsf.gov
Program Director
Stephen DiFazio
(703) 292-4517 E 12472 sdifazio@nsf.gov
Program Director
Arcady R. Mushegian
(703) 292-8528 E 12475 amushegi@nsf.gov

Genetic Mechanisms Administrative Staff 

Phone: (703) 292-8440

Genetic Mechanisms Administrative Staff list
Program Specialist
Tresa S Proffitt
(703) 292-7894 E 12456A tproffit@nsf.gov
Program Assistant
Spencer Swansen
E 12462C sswansen@nsf.gov

Molecular Biophysics  (BIO/MCB)

Phone: (703) 292-8440 | Fax: (703) 292-9061

Molecular Biophysics list
Program Director
Wilson A. Francisco
(703) 292-7856 E 12481 wfrancis@nsf.gov
Program Director
Jaroslaw Majewski
(703) 292-7278 E 12463 jmajewsk@nsf.gov
Program Director
Engin Serpersu
(703) 292-7124 E 12471 eserpers@nsf.gov
Program Director
Ishita Mukerji
(703) 292-2499 E 12381B imukerji@nsf.gov

Molecular Biophysics Administrative Staff 

Phone: (703) 292-8440


Systems and Synthetic Biology  (BIO/MCB)

Phone: (703) 292-8440 | Fax: (703) 292-9061

Systems and Synthetic Biology list
Program Director
David Rockcliffe
(703) 292-7123 E 12465 drockcli@nsf.gov
Program Director
Anthony G Garza
(703) 292-8440 E 12416 aggarza@nsf.gov
Program Director
Bianca Garner
o ffsite bgarner@nsf.gov
Program Director
Ramon Gonzalez
(703) 292-8046 E 12473 ramgonza@nsf.gov

Systems and Synthetic Biology Administrative Staff 

Phone: (703) 292-8440 | Fax: (703) 292-9061

Systems and Synthetic Biology Administrative Staff list
Program Specialist
Tresa S Proffitt
(703) 292-7894 E 12456A tproffit@nsf.gov
Program Assistant
Spencer Swansen
E 12462C sswansen@nsf.gov

Division of Biological Infrastructure  (BIO/DBI)

Phone: (703) 292-8470 | Fax: (703) 292-9063 | Room: W 12200External Website

Division of Biological Infrastructure list
Division Director
Patricia A Soranno
(703) 292-2562 W 12231 psoranno@nsf.gov
Deputy Division Director
James O. Deshler
(703) 292-8470 W 12235 jdeshler@nsf.gov
Division Secretary
Jerrinus Cross
(703) 292-7154 W 12225D jcross@nsf.gov
Program Support Manager
Deseree W. Mason
(703) 292-7157 W12255 dwmason@nsf.gov
Program Specialist
Hannah Perry
(703) 292-7358 W 12225B hanperry@nsf.gov
Program Specialist
Curtis Stellfox
(703) 292-7717 W 12214B cstellfo@nsf.gov
Program Specialist
Maya S. Anderson
(703) 292-7890 W 12214C manderso@nsf.gov
Program Assistant
Tonisha S Thompson
N/A tonthomp@nsf.gov
Program Analyst
Jeffrey D Rieke
(703) 292-5303 W 12244D jrieke@nsf.gov
Program Analyst
Pauline Meng
(703) 292-4542 W 12244B pmeng@nsf.gov
Operations Specialist
Ashley L. Hobbs
(703) 292-4972 W 12214D ahobbs@nsf.gov
Program Director
Deana Erdner
(703) 292-2053 W 12244C derdner@nsf.gov
Acting Biologist
Linh Nguyen
(703) 292-7270 W 13244B linguyen@nsf.gov

Centers, Facilities, and Additional Research Infrastructure  (BIO/DBI)



Centers, Facilities, and Additional Research Infrastructure list
Program Director
Jennifer Walsh Weller
(703) 292-2224 W 12239 jweller@nsf.gov
Program Director
Sridhar Raghavachari
(703) 292-4845 E 12328 sraghava@nsf.gov

NEON 

NEON list
Program Director
Charlotte Roehm
(703) 292-4218 W 12217 croehm@nsf.gov

OED Synthesis Center 

OED Synthesis Center list
Program Director.
Steven E. Ellis
(703) 292-7876 W 12203 stellis@nsf.gov

Biology Integration Institutes 

Biology Integration Institutes list
Program Director
Reed Schiele Beaman
(703) 292-7163 W 12245 rsbeaman@nsf.gov

Human Resources  (BIO/DBI)

Phone: (703) 292-8470 | Fax: (703) 292-9063

Postdoctoral Research Fellowships in Biology 

Phone: (703) 292-8470 | Fax: (703) 292-9063

Postdoctoral Research Fellowships in Biology list
Program Director
John Barthell
(703) 292-2618 W 12239 jbarthel@nsf.gov
Program Director
Daniel R. Marenda
(703) 292-2157 W 12253 dmarenda@nsf.gov
Program Director
Amanda Alice Simcox
W 12253 asimcox@nsf.gov
Program Director
Andrea Holgado de Brigueda
(703) 292-7076 W 12200A aholgado@nsf.gov

Research Experiences for Undergraduates 

Phone: (703) 292-8470 | Fax: (703) 292-9063

Research Experiences for Undergraduates list
Program Director
Sally E. O'Connor
(703) 292-8470 W 12219 soconnor@nsf.gov

Research Coordination Network 


Research Resources  (BIO/DBI)

Phone: (703) 292-8470 | Fax: (703) 292-9063

Advancing Digitization of Biodiversity Collections 

Advancing Digitization of Biodiversity Collections list
Program Director
Reed Schiele Beaman
(703) 292-7163 W 12245 rsbeaman@nsf.gov

Capacity: Bio Collections 

Capacity: Bio Collections list
Program Director
Reed Schiele Beaman
(703) 292-7163 W 12245 rsbeaman@nsf.gov

Capacity: Cyberinfrastructure 

Capacity: Cyberinfrastructure list
Program Director
Peter H. McCartney
(703) 292-8470 W 12247 pmccartn@nsf.gov
Program Director
Jean X Gao
(703) 292-7253 W 12249 jgao@nsf.gov

Capacity: Field Stations 

Capacity: Field Stations list
Program Director
Peter H. McCartney
(703) 292-8470 W 12247 pmccartn@nsf.gov

Innovation: Bioinformatics 

Innovation: Bioinformatics list
Program Director
Jean X Gao
(703) 292-7253 W 12249 jgao@nsf.gov

Innovation: Instrumentation 

Innovation: Instrumentation list
Program Director
Robert D Fleischmann
(703) 292-7191 W 12241 rfleisch@nsf.gov

Innovation: Research Methods 


Macrosystems 

Macrosystems list
Program Director
Michael W. Binford
(703) 292-7346 W 12249 mbinford@nsf.gov

Sustaining 

Sustaining list
Program Director
Steven E. Ellis
(703) 292-7876 W 12203 stellis@nsf.gov

Division of Integrative Organismal Systems  (BIO/IOS)

Phone: (703) 292-8420 | Fax: (703) 292-9153 | Room: E 12300External Website

Division of Integrative Organismal Systems list
Deputy Division Director
Michelle M. Elekonich
(703) 292-7202 E 12316 melekoni@nsf.gov
Division Director
Maria Denise Dearing
(703) 292-2209 E 12312 mdearing@nsf.gov
Program Specialist
Janice Hermann
(703) 292-4578 E 12300 jhermann@nsf.gov
Program Specialist
Chakiar Trotman
(703) 292-2214 E 12300 ctrotman@nsf.gov
Program Specialist
Eric Aaron Kornegay
(703) 292-2213 E 12300 erkorneg@nsf.gov
Program Specialist
Elizabeth B. Bell
(703) 292-7881 E 12358D ebell@nsf.gov
Program Specialist
Ben Wong
(703) 292-2297 E 12358A cbwong@nsf.gov
Program Analyst
Sarita M. Shephard
(703) 292-7422 E 12381A sshephar@nsf.gov
Science Assistant
Elizabeth Wenker
(703) 292-8584 E 12300 ewenker@nsf.gov
Biologist
Rachel Shackelford
(703) 292-8497 E 12484A rshackel@nsf.gov
Operations Manager
Daniel Paul Gerszewski
(703) 292-4637 E 12346 DGERSZEW@nsf.gov
Management Analyst
Sheila D. Wilkinson
(703) 292-4864 E 12345A sdwilkin@nsf.gov

Behavioral Systems Cluster  (BIO/IOS)

Phone: (703) 292-8423 | Fax: (703) 292-9153

Behavioral Systems Cluster list
Program Director
Jodie M. Jawor
(703) 292-7887 E 12336 jjawor@nsf.gov
Program Director
Colette Marie St. Mary
(703) 292-4332 E 12318 cstmary@nsf.gov
Program Director
Susan Renn
(703) 292-2260 E 12327 srenn@nsf.gov

Developmental Systems Cluster  (BIO/IOS)

Phone: (703) 292-8417 | Fax: (703) 292-9153

Developmental Systems Cluster list
Program Director
Steven L Klein
(703) 292-7122 E 12322 sklein@nsf.gov
Program Director
Mamta Rawat
(703) 292-7265 E 12326 mrawat@nsf.gov
Program Director
Anna K. Allen
(703) 292-8011 E 12324 akallen@nsf.gov

Neural Systems Cluster  (BIO/IOS)

Phone: (703) 292-8421 | Fax: (703) 292-9153

Neural Systems Cluster list
Program Director
Evan Balaban
(703) 292-8421 E 12338 ebalaban@nsf.gov
Program Director
Edda Thiels
(703) 292-8421 E 12334 ethiels@nsf.gov
Program Director
Kathleen Lynch
(703) 292-2095 E 12300 klynch@nsf.gov
Program Director
Quentin Gaudry
(703) 292-2903 E 12315 qgaudry@nsf.gov

Physiological and Structural Systems Cluster  (BIO/IOS)

Phone: (703) 292-8413 | Fax: (703) 292-9153

Physiological and Structural Systems Cluster list
Program Director
Kathryn Dickson
(703) 292-7380 E 12319 kdickson@nsf.gov
Program Director
Irwin Forseth
E 12342 iforseth@nsf.gov
Program Director
Michael L. Mishkind
(703) 292-8413 E 12332 mmishkin@nsf.gov
Program Director
Theodore J. Morgan
(703) 292-7868 E 12315 tmorgan@nsf.gov
Program Director
Joanna Shisler
(703) 292-5368 E 12329 jshisler@nsf.gov
Program Director
Sean Place
(703) 292-7338 E 12300 splace@nsf.gov
Program Director
Aruna Kilaru
(703) 292-7481 E 12325 akilaru@nsf.gov
Program Director
Courtney Elaine Jahn
(703) 292-7746 E 12317 cjahn@nsf.gov
Program Director (Detailee)
Kari Perez
E 12300 kperez@nsf.gov
Expert
Nicole Donofrio
(703) 292-2916 E 12300 ndonofri@nsf.gov

Plant Genome Research Program (PGRP)  (BIO/IOS)

Phone: (703) 292-4400 | Fax: (703) 292-9153

Plant Genome Research Program (PGRP) list
Program Director
Diane Jofuku Okamuro
(703) 292-4508 E 12344 dokamuro@nsf.gov
Program Director
Gerald Schoenknecht
(703) 292-5076 E 12337 gschoenk@nsf.gov
Program Director
Kan Wang
(703) 292-4591 E 12300 kawang@nsf.gov
Program Specialist
Clay Nguyen
(703) 292-7324 E 12300 clnguyen@nsf.gov

Division of Environmental Biology  (BIO/DEB)

Phone: (703) 292-8480 | Fax: (703) 292-9064 | Room: W 12100External Website

Division of Environmental Biology list
Division Director
Allen J. Moore
(703) 292-4807 W 12142 ajmoore@nsf.gov
Acting Deputy Division Director
Matthew D. Kane
(703) 292-7186 W 12164 mkane@nsf.gov
Operations Manager
Lynette M Bouchie
(703) 292-8843 W 12152 lbouchie@nsf.gov
AAAS Science and Technology Policy Fellow
Nicole Barger
(703) 292-4441 C 12015C nbarger@nsf.gov

Population & Community Ecology Cluster  (BIO/DEB)

Phone: (703) 292-8481 | Fax: (703) 292-9064

Population & Community Ecology Cluster list
Program Director
Douglas J. Levey
(703) 292-5196 W 12124 dlevey@nsf.gov
Program Director
Betsy Von Holle
(703) 292-4974 W 12126 mvonholl@nsf.gov
Program Director
Andrea Porras-Alfaro
(703) 292-2944 W 12162 aporrasa@nsf.gov
Program Director
Colin Mark Orians
(703) 292-2603 W 12154 corians@nsf.gov
Program Director
Jeremy Wojdak
(703) 292-8781 W 12135 jwojdak@nsf.gov
Program Director
Kari Segraves
(703) 292-8935 W 12256B ksegrave@nsf.gov
Biologist
Emily Maria Mellicant
(703) 292-2492 W 12157D emellica@nsf.gov
Program Specialist
Elizabeth Banda Cruz
(703) 292-4467 E 12466A ecruz@nsf.gov
Program Specialist
Taylor Cripps
(703) 292-5396 W 12154A tcripps@nsf.gov
Program Assistant
Danis Michelle M Bonilla
(703) 292-8098 W 12172B dbonilla@nsf.gov

Ecosystem Science Cluster  (BIO/DEB)

Phone: (703) 292-8481 | Fax: (703) 292-9064

Ecosystem Science Cluster list
Program Director
Kendra McLauchlan
(703) 292-2217 W 12148 kmclauch@nsf.gov
Program Director
Robyn Smyth
(703) 292-2996 W 12155 rsmyth@nsf.gov
Program Director
Jason B. West
(703) 292-7410 W 12189 jwest@nsf.gov
Program Director
Kirsten Schwarz
(703) 292-2416 W 12225A kschwarz@nsf.gov
Program Director
Catherine O'Reilly
(703) 292-7934 W 12184 coreilly@nsf.gov
Program Analyst
Megan Lewis
(703) 292-4941 W 12157B meglewis@nsf.gov
Program Specialist
Taylor Cripps
(703) 292-5396 W 12154A tcripps@nsf.gov
Program Assistant
Danis Michelle M Bonilla
(703) 292-8098 W 12172B dbonilla@nsf.gov

Evolutionary Processes Cluster  (BIO/DEB)

Phone: (703) 292-8481 | Fax: (703) 292-9064

Evolutionary Processes Cluster list
Program Director
Samuel M. Scheiner
(703) 292-7175 W 12134 sscheine@nsf.gov
Program Director
Leslie J. Rissler
(703) 292-4628 W 12144 lrissler@nsf.gov
Program Director
Francisco Bilbao Moore
(703) 292-5376 W 12162 fbmoore@nsf.gov
Program Director
Matthew Herron
(703) 292-5361 W 12253 mherron@nsf.gov
Program Director
Judy Stone
(703) 292-7171 W 12147 justone@nsf.gov
Program Director
Matthew D. Carling
(703) 292-2134 W 12182 mcarling@nsf.gov
Program Director
Kimberly A Hughes
(703) 292-7452 W 12153 kahughes@nsf.gov
Biologist
Megan A Parks
(703) 292-5192 W 12172A mparks@nsf.gov
Program Specialist
Christina N. Washington
(703) 292-2083 W 12157C cwashing@nsf.gov
Program Specialist
Nochienna Agubuzo
W 12254B nagubuzo@nsf.gov
Program Assistant
Simmone Deane
(703) 292-7512 W 12172D sdeane@nsf.gov
Program Assistant
William P. Lawson
(703) 292-4468 E 12372C wlawson@nsf.gov

Systematic Biodiversity Science Cluster  (BIO/DEB)

Phone: (703) 292-8481 | Fax: (703) 292-9064

Systematic Biodiversity Science Cluster list
Program Director
Katharina Dittmar
(703) 292-7799 W 12136 kdittmar@nsf.gov
Program Director
Maureen M Kearney
(703) 292-8239 W 12158 mkearney@nsf.gov
Program Director
Christopher Balakrishnan
(703) 292-2331 W 12137 cbalakri@nsf.gov
Program Director
Shannon Fehlberg
(703) 292-8784 W 12129 sfehlber@nsf.gov
Program Director
Matthew Fujita
(703) 292-7814 W 12156 mfujita@nsf.gov
Program Director
Mary Aime
(703) 292-4572 W 12214A maime@nsf.gov
Biologist
Rachel L Roberts
(703) 292-8248 W 12256C rarobert@nsf.gov
Program Specialist
Christina N. Washington
(703) 292-2083 W 12157C cwashing@nsf.gov
Program Specialist
Nochienna Agubuzo
W 12254B nagubuzo@nsf.gov
Program Assistant
William P. Lawson
(703) 292-4468 E 12372C wlawson@nsf.gov
Program Assistant
Simmone Deane
(703) 292-7512 W 12172D sdeane@nsf.gov
Expert
Christopher J. Schneider
N/A cjschnei@nsf.gov

Emerging Frontiers Office  (BIO/EF)

Phone: (703) 292-8400 | Fax: (703) 292-9054External Website