Skip to main content
Email Print Share

Staff Directory

Division of Polar Programs  (GEO/PLR)

Phone: (703) 292-8030 | Fax: (703) 292-9081 | Room: 755 S | Website

Office Head
Kelly K. Falkner (703) 292-7424 755.61 S kfalkner@nsf.gov
 
Administrative Officer
Pawnee C. Maiden 755.63 S pmaiden@nsf.gov
 
Business Analyst
Scot Arnold (703) 292-2559 755.59-A S sarnold@nsf.gov
 
Polar Education Liaison
Elizabeth L. Rom (703) 292-7709 725 N elrom@nsf.gov
 
Polar Outreach Program Manager
Peter West (703) 292-7530 740.02 S pwest@nsf.gov
 
Management & Program Analyst
Andrew Backe 740.12 S abacke@nsf.gov
 
Program Analyst
Kimiko S. Bowens-Knox (703) 292-7402 755.03 S kbowens@nsf.gov
 
Program Specialist
Erika N. Davis 755.D S eridavis@nsf.gov
 
Program Specialist
Angela F. Lyons 940 B alyons@nsf.gov
 
Technical Information Specialist
David D. Friscic (703) 292-7404 740.14 S dfriscic@nsf.gov
 
IT Specialist-Contractor
Daniel King (703) 292-4423 755.11 dking@associates.nsf.gov
 
Communications Specialist
Terri A. Edillon (703) 292-7521 755.01 S tedillon@nsf.gov
 
Pathways Administrative Support Trainee
Masauda Barakat (703) 292-2492 755.A S mbarakat@nsf.gov
 

Section for Antarctic Infrastructure and Logistics  (GEO/PLR/AIL)

Phone: (703) 292-8032 | Fax: (703) 292-9080 | Room: 755 S

Section Head
Scott G. Borg 755.25 S sborg@nsf.gov
 
Program Director
Alexandra R. Isern (703) 292-7581 755.27 S aisern@nsf.gov
 
Antarctic Research Support Manager
Jessie L. Crain (703) 292-7457 755.19 S jlcrain@nsf.gov
 
Facilities Engineering Projects Manager
Ben D. Roth (703) 292-7857 755.37 S broth@nsf.gov
 
Information Technology Support Manager
Timothy G. Howard 755.47 S tghoward@nsf.gov
 
McMurdo Station Manager, Summer
Terry Melton (703) 292-8032 755 S Terry.Melton@usap.gov
 
McMurdo Station Manager, Winter
William N. Henriksen (703) 292-8032 755 S William.Henriksen@usap.gov
 
Ocean Projects Manager
Timothy M. McGovern (703) 292-4248 755.69 S tmcgover@nsf.gov
 
Operations Manager
Margaret A. Knuth (703) 292-7418 740.06 S mknuth@nsf.gov
 
Polar Coordination Specialist
Nadene G. Kennedy (703) 292-7405 740.01 S nkennedy@nsf.gov
 
Program Coordination Specialist
Carlena Fooks (703) 292-7446 755.P S cfooks@nsf.gov
 
Program Support Contract Specialist
Russell McElyea (703) 292-2463 755.O S rmcelyea@nsf.gov
 
Specialized Support Manager
Arthur J. Brown (703) 292-7443 755.31 S abrown@nsf.gov
 
Program Manager, System Operations & Logistics
Paul Sheppard (703) 292-7451 740.08 S psheppar@nsf.gov
 
Program Manager, Technology Development
Patrick D. Smith 755.39 S pdsmith@nsf.gov
 
ANG Liaison
Rick McKeown (703) 292-7454 755.13 S rmckeown@nsf.gov
 
DoD Liaison
Gary James (703) 292-7449 755.13 S gjames@nsf.gov
 
USAP Information Security Manager - Contractor
Desari Mattox (703) 292-8588 755.51 S dmattox@associates.nsf.gov
 
ANG/DOD Liaison
Adam Thomas (703) 292-7454 755.13 S abthomas@nsf.gov
 
Facilities Construction and Maintenance Manager
Michael Gencarelli (703) 292-7419 755.79 S mgencare@nsf.gov
 

Section for Antarctic Sciences  (GEO/PLR/ANT)

Phone: (703) 292-8033 | Fax: (703) 292-9079 | Room: 755 S

Section Head
Eric S. Saltzman 755.29 S esaltzma@nsf.gov
 
Science Assistant
Colene M. Haffke (703) 292-7426 755.J S cohaffke@nsf.gov
 
Astrophysics & Geospace Sciences Program Director
Vladimir Papitashvili (703) 292-7425 755.71 S vpapita@nsf.gov
 
Program Director
Thomas Wilch 740.04 S twilch@nsf.gov
 
Program Director, Antarctic Glaciology
Paul M. Cutler (703) 292-4961 755.09 S pcutler@nsf.gov
 
Ocean & Atmospheric Sciences Program Director
Peter Milne (703) 292-4714 755.81 S pmilne@nsf.gov
 
Program Manager, Organisms & Ecosystems
Christian H. Fritsen 755.21 S cfritsen@nsf.gov
 
Program Coordination Specialist
Desiree Marshall (703) 292-7433 755.K demarsha@nsf.gov
 
Research Facilities & Special Projects Program Director
Michael E. Jackson 755.71 S mejackso@nsf.gov
 

Section for Arctic Sciences  (GEO/PLR/ARC)

Phone: (703) 292-8029 | Fax: (703) 292-9082 | Room: 755 S

Section Head
Simon N. Stephenson (703) 292-7435 755.57 S sstephen@nsf.gov
 
Arctic Natural Sciences Program Director
Marc Stieglitz (703) 292-2461 755.43 S mstiegli@nsf.gov
 
Arctic Natural Sciences Program Director
Anjuli S. Bamzai (703) 292-8688 755.07 S abamzai@nsf.gov
 
Arctic Natural Sciences Program Director
William J. Wiseman (703) 292-4750 755.41 S wwiseman@nsf.gov
 
Arctic Observing Network Program Manager
William G. Ambrose 755.79 S wambrose@nsf.gov
 
Arctic Social Sciences Program Director
Anna M. Kerttula de Echave (703) 292-7432 755.32 S akerttul@nsf.gov
 
Arctic System Sciences Program Director
Diane McKnight (703) 292-4897 755.77 S dmcknigh@nsf.gov
 
Program Manager
Cynthia L. Suchman (703) 292-2092 755.17 S csuchman@nsf.gov
 
Arctic System Sciences Program Director
Neil R. Swanberg (703) 292-7428 740.16 S nswanber@nsf.gov
 
Program Coordination Specialist
Linda Izzard (703) 292-7430 755.G S lizzard@nsf.gov
 
Program Specialist
Karen Sloane (703) 292-4576 755.F S ksloane@nsf.gov
 
Program Support Contract Specialist
Randall V. Sisco (703) 292-8466 755.E S rsisco@nsf.gov
 
Research Support & Logistics Program Manager
Renee Crain (703) 292-4482 755.33 S rcrain@nsf.gov
 
Research Support & Logistics Program Manager
Patrick R. Haggerty (703) 292-8577 755.65 S phaggert@nsf.gov
 
Science Assistant
Kate E. Ruck (703) 292-8051 740.A S kruck@nsf.gov
 
Planning and Controls Manager-Contractor
Monte Ingram (703) 292-7785 675.19 mingram@associates.nsf.gov
 
Arctic Research Support and Logistics Manager
Frank R. Rack (703) 292-2684 755.19 S frack@nsf.gov
 
Program Director
Jennifer L. Mercer (703) 292-7453 675.19 jmercer@nsf.gov
 

Section for Polar Environment, Safety and Health  (GEO/PLR/PESH)

Phone: (703) 292-8031 | Fax: (703) 292-9081 | Room: 755 S

Section Head
Susanne M. LaFratta-Decker (703) 292-7445 755.55 S slafratt@nsf.gov
 
Environmental Policy Specialist
Nature McGinn (703) 292-8224 755.50 S nmcginn@nsf.gov
 
Management and Program Analyst
William S. Carr (703) 292-7590 755.51 S wcarr@nsf.gov
 
Senior Advisor, Environment
Polly A. Penhale 755.49 S ppenhale@nsf.gov
 
Chief Medical Officer, DoD Liaison
Doug Cromack 755.01 S dcromack@nsf.gov
 
Safety & Health Officer
Jon M. Fentress (703) 292-7477 755.15 S jfentres@nsf.gov
 
Safety and Occupational Health Manager
Gwendolyn M. Adams (703) 292-7438 755.48 S gadams@nsf.gov
 
Sea Grant Fellow
Andrew Titmus (703) 292-8557 740.B S atitmus@nsf.gov