Steven C. Beering, Chairman, President Emeritus, Purdue University, West Lafayette

Kathryn D. Sullivan, Vice Chairman, Director, Battelle Center for Mathematics and Science Education Policy, John Glenn School of Public Affairs, Ohio State University, Columbus


Mark R. Abbott, Dean and Professor, College of Oceanic and Atmospheric Sciences, Oregon State University

Dan E. Arvizu, Director and Chief Executive, National Renewable Energy Laboratory, Golden, Colorado

Barry C. Barish, Maxine and Ronald Linde Professor of Physics Emeritus and Director, LIGO Laboratory, California Institute of Technology

Camilla P. Benbow, Patricia and Rodes Hart Dean of Education and Human Development, Peabody College, Vanderbilt University

Ray M. Bowen, President Emeritus, Texas A&M University, College Station

John T. Bruer, President, The James S. McDonnell Foundation, St. Louis

G. Wayne Clough, President, Georgia Institute of Technology

Kelvin K. Droegemeier, Associate Vice President for Research, Regents’ Professor of Meteorology and Weathernews Chair, University of Oklahoma, Norman

Kenneth M. Ford, Director and Chief Executive Officer, Institute for Human and Machine Cognition, Pensacola

Patricia D. Galloway, Chief Executive Officer, The Nielsen-Wurster Group, Inc., Seattle

José-Marie Griffiths, Dean, School of Information and Library Science, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

Daniel E. Hastings, Dean for Undergraduate Education and Professor, Aeronautics & Astronautics and Engineering Systems, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Karl Hess, Professor of Advanced Study Emeritus and Swanlund Chair, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign

Elizabeth Hoffman, Executive Vice President and Provost, Iowa State University, Ames

Louis J. Lanzerotti, Distinguished Research Professor of Physics, Center for Solar-Terrestrial Research, New Jersey Institute of Technology

Alan I. Leshner, Chief Executive Officer and Executive Publisher, Science, American Association for the Advancement of Science, Washington, DC

Douglas D. Randall, Professor and Thomas Jefferson Fellow and Director, Interdisciplinary Plant Group, University of Missouri-Columbia

Arthur K. Reilly, Senior Director, Strategic Technology Policy, Cisco Systems, Inc., Ocean, New Jersey

Jon C. Strauss, President Emeritus, Harvey Mudd College

Thomas N. Taylor, Roy A. Roberts Distinguished Professor, Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, Curator of Paleobotany in the Natural History Museum and Biodiversity Research Center, The University of Kansas, Lawrence

Richard F. Thompson, Keck Professor of Psychology and Biological Sciences, University of Southern California

Jo Anne Vasquez, Director of Professional Development, Policy, and Outreach; Center for Research on Education in Science, Mathematics, Engineering, and Technology; Arizona State University, Tempe

Member ex officio

Arden L. Bement, Jr., Director, National Science Foundation


Michael P. Crosby, Executive Officer, National Science Board and National Science Board Office Director

Committee on Education and Human Resources, Subcommittee on Science and Engineering Indicators

Louis J. Lanzerotti, Chairman


Camilla P. Benbow

John T. Bruer

G. Wayne Clough

José-Marie Griffith

Arthur K. Reilly

Jon C. Strauss

Richard F. Thompson

Jo Anne Vasquez

Board Subcomittee Staff:

Alan I. Rapoport, Executive Secretary

Jean M. Pomeroy, Board Office Liaison