Skip all navigation and go to page content.

  • Dollar Conversion:
  • Current
  • Constant
  • previous / next year
NOTES: Only 11 agencies are required to report federal R&D obligations: Departments of Agriculture, Commerce, Defense, Energy, Health and Human Services, Homeland Security (established in 2002), Interior, and Transportation; Environmental Protection Agency; National Aeronautics and Space Administration; and National Science Foundation. These obligations represent approximately 98% of total federal R&D obligations. Civilian workers represent the employed component of the civilian labor force and are reported as annual data not seasonally adjusted. Federal R&D obligations are reported in current dollars.

SOURCES: National Science Foundation, National Center for Science and Engineering Statistics, Federal Funds for Research and Development (various years); Bureau of Labor Statistics, Local Area Unemployment Statistics (various years).
Excel table Download data (Current dollars only) (58.5 KB) | Print