text-only page produced automatically by LIFT Text Transcoder Skip all navigation and go to page contentSkip top navigation and go to directorate navigationSkip top navigation and go to page navigation
National Science Board
Meetings Home
dividing line
All Archived Meetings and Minutes
dividing line
NSB Staff
dividing line
Contact NSB
dividing line
NSB Site Map
dividing line
Go to NSF  Go to USA.gov

Public Agenda

Committees on Programs and Plans - NSB Meeting

Public visitors must arrange for a visitor's badge in advance. Call 703-292-7000 to request your badge, which will be ready for pick-up at the visitor's desk on the day of the meeting.

National Science Foundation
February 23, 2009
8:05 a.m. - 10:30 a.m.
2:15 p.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Room 1235

Open Session: 8:05 a.m. - 10:30 a.m.

  1. Approval of December 2008 CPP Minutes

  2. Committee Chairman's Remarks
      Dr. Kelvin Droegemeier, CPP Chairman

  3. Subcommittee on Polar Issues (SOPI):
      Dr. Jon Strauss, SOPI Chairman
      Dr. Joan Frye, SOPI Executive Secretary

    1. SOPI Chairman's Remarks
    2. Director's Report - Office of Polar Programs (OPP)
    3. International Polar Year (IPY) Outreach and Education Highlights
    4. Presidential Directive on Arctic Region Policy (NSPD-66/HSPD-25): Promoting International Scientific Cooperation

  4. Task Force on Sustainable Energy (SE):
      Drs. Dan Arvizu & Jon Strauss, SE Co-Chairmen
      Ms. Tami Tamashiro, SE Executive Secretary

    1. SE Co-Chairmen's Remarks
    2. Review of Recent Stakeholder Discussions
    3. Discussion of Task Force Draft Report

  5. NSB Information Item: Update on iPlant

  6. NSB Information Item: Update on Planning for Coherent Light Source Development

  7. NSB Information Item: Track 2D (High Performance Computing System Acquisition: Towards a Petascale Computing Environment for Science and Engineering)

  8. Discussion Item: Review of MREFC Process

    • NSB Overview
    • NSF Implementation Plan
    • Discussion and Next Steps

Closed Session: 2:15 p.m. - 4:00 p.m.

  1. Committee Chairman's Remarks
      Dr. Kelvin Droegemeier, CPP Chairman

  2. Award Recommendations for Three Science of Learning Centers (SLCs): Introduction & Overview

  3. NSB Action Item: Science of Learning Center #1

  4. NSB Action Item: Science of Learning Center #2

  5. NSB Action Item: Science of Learning Center #3


Sonya Mallinoff
Executive Secretary


For more information about file formats used on the NSF site, please see the Plug-ins and Viewers page.

Print this page NSF_NSB Twitter Follow Button Back to Top of page
  NSB Home | Web Policies & Important Links | Privacy | FOIA | Help | Contact NSB | Contact NSB Webmaster | NSB Site Map  
National Science Board
The National Science Board, 4201 Wilson Boulevard, Arlington, Virginia 22230, USA
Tel: (703) 292-7000, FIRS: (800) 877-8339 | TDD: (800) 281-8749
Last Updated:
Jul 27, 2009
Text Only

\ Last Updated: Apr 30, 2009