text-only page produced automatically by LIFT Text Transcoder Skip all navigation and go to page contentSkip top navigation and go to directorate navigationSkip top navigation and go to page navigation
National Science Foundation
  • Medal of Science Home
  • Nomination Information
  • Recipients
  • President's Committee
  • Natl. Medal of Technology and Innovation
  • Natl. Science & Technology Medals Foundation
  • Privacy Act
  • Office of the Director (OD)
    design element
    Office of the Director
    Office of the Director (OD)
    Office of Diversity and Inclusion (ODI)
    Office of the General Counsel (OGC)
    Office of Integrative Activities (OIA)
       - EPSCoR Office
    Office of International Science and Engineering (OISE)
    Office of Legislative & Public Affairs (OLPA)

    Email this pagePrint this page

    The President's National Medal of Science: Recipient Details

    Eleanor J. Gibson

    Title: Susan Linn Sage Profesor of Psychology Emeritus
    Affiliation:   Cornell University
        Ithaca, New York USA
    Gender:   Female
    Year Deceased:   2002
    divider line
    Award Discipline:   Behavioral and Social Science
    Award Year:   1992
    Citation:   "For her conceptual insights in developing a theory of perceptual learning; and for achieving a deeper understanding of perceptual development in children and basic processes in reading."
        Presented by President Bush at a White House ceremony on June 23, 1992.


    Search Again


    Email this pagePrint this page
    Back to Top of page