Skip to main content
Email Print Share

REU Sites

REU Sites: Computer and Information Science and Engineering

Please report errors in the list below by writing to reu.cise@nsf.gov.


Search Again

81 items found, displaying 21 to 40.[First/Prev] 1 2 3 4 5 [Next/Last]
Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
Marquette University
Computation Across the Disciplines
Math, Stats and Computer Science
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Primary: Dennis Brylow
(414) 288-6342
dennis.brylow@marquette.edu
Secondary: Kim Factor
(414) 288-7941
kim.factor@marquette.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Computational sciences, applied mathematical modeling, embedded and ubiquitous systems, STEM education
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Computer and Information Science and Engineering
Mississippi State University
REU Site: Undergraduate Research in Computational Biology at Mississippi State University
Computer Science and Engineering
Mississippi State, Mississippi
Primary: Andy Perkins
(662) 325-0004
perkins@cse.msstate.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Computational biology, bioinformatics, genomics, genetics, evolutionary biology
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Computer and Information Science and Engineering
Missouri University of Science and technology
REU Site: Research and Training Experience for Undergraduates in the Area of Secure Cloud Computing
Department of Computer Science
Rolla, Missouri
Primary: Sanjay Madria
(573) 341-4856
madrias@mst.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Cloud Security; Data Security, Access control and Secure Sensor Cloud
Abstract of Award
New Mexico State University
BIGDatA- Big Data Analytics for Cyber-physical Systems
Computer Science
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Primary: Huiping Cao
(575) 646-4600
hcao@cs.nmsu.edu
Secondary: Satyajayant Misra
(575) 646-6256
misra@cs.nmsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Data Analytics, Big Data, Cyber-physical Systems, Smart Grids, Visualization, Multi-agent Systems
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Computer and Information Science and Engineering
New York Institute of Technology
REU Site: Research on Security of Mobile Devices and Wireless Networks at NYIT
School of Engineering and Computing Sciences
New York, New York
Primary: Ziqian (Cecilia) Dong
(646) 273-6129
ziqian.dong@nyit.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: mobile device and wireless network security including user authentication, cryptography, botnets, detection of physical attack, geolocation, privacy, and wireless network topology control
Abstract of Award
North Carolina A&T State University
REU Site: Research Experiences for Undergraduates in Cyber Identity
Department of Computer Science
Greensboro, North Carolina
Primary: Kaushik Roy
(336) 285-3691
kroy@ncat.edu
Secondary: Albert C. Esterline
(336) 285-3694
esterlin@ncat.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Computational Framework for Identity, Extending the Use of WebIDs, Author Identification, Mitigating Replay Attacks, Web Client Identification, Cyber Threat Identification
Abstract of Award
North Carolina A&T State University
Engineering Modeling and Computational Research
College of Engineering
Greensboro, North Carolina
Primary: Bala Ram
(336) 285-2645
ram@ncat.edu
Secondary: Marcia Williams
(336) 285-2651
marcia@ncat.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Shock motion in supersonic vehicles, hydrologic simulation, biomechanics, humanitarian logistics, analysis of soft gels, energy efficiency of buildings, and non-destructive testing
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Computer and Information Science and Engineering
Raleigh, North Carolina
Primary: Jennifer Albert
(910) 273-8980
jlsharp@ncsu.edu
Secondary: Tiffany Barnes
(919) 515-5764
tmbarnes@ncsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Serious games, human computer interaction, interfaces, camera control, visual experiences, intelligent tutors, educational data mining, artificial intelligence, natural language dialogue, narrative
Abstract of Award
North Carolina State University
Science of Software
Department of Computer Science
Raleigh, North Carolina
Primary: Chris Parnin
(919) 515-2042
cjparnin@ncsu.edu
Secondary: Sarah Heckman
(919) 515-2042
sarah_heckman@ncsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Software analytics, machine learning, data exploration in virtual reality, data engineering, data mining,quantified-self, and productivity analysis
Abstract of Award
Northeastern University
Research Experiences for Undergraduates in Data Driven Discovery (REU-D3)
Dept. of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Boston, Massachusetts
Primary: Melanie Smith
(617) 373-2976
m.smith@neu.edu
Secondary: David Kaeli (PI)
(617) 373-5413
kaeli@ece.neu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Data analytics, data visualization, parallel computing, big data, engineering and computer science applications, mentoring
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Computer and Information Science and Engineering
Rochester, Michigan
Primary: Huirong Fu
(248) 370-4456
fu@oakland.edu
Secondary: Tao Shu
(248) 370-2137
shu@oakland.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Network and Communications Security, Software Security, Systems Security, Cloud Security, and Trust, Security and Privacy in Social Networks
Abstract of Award
Oregon State University
Eco-Informatics Summer Institute (EISI)
Biological and Ecological Engineering
Corvallis, Oregon
Primary: Baek Soo Lee
leeb@onid.orst.edu
Secondary: Desiree D Tullos
(541) 737-2038
desiree.tullos@oregonstate.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Plant-pollinator networks, salmonid bioenergetics, fish bioenergetics, mathematics,statistics, computer science, ecology, engineering
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Computer and Information Science and Engineering
Oregon State University
REU Site: Robots in the Real World
School of Mechanical, Industrial, and Manufacturing Engineering
Corvallis, Oregon
Primary: William D. Smart
(541) 737-0670
bill.smart@oregonstate.edu
Secondary: Cindy M. Grimm
(541) 737-4914
cindy.grimm@oregonstate.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Robotics, human-robot interaction, dynamics and controls, machine learning, multi-agent learning, reinforcement learning, privacy
Abstract of Award
Purdue University Calumet
REU Site: Sustainable Wireless Communication
Department of Mathematics, Computer Science, and Statistics
Hammond, Indiana
Primary: Shuhui Yang
(219) 989-2697
yang246@purdue.edu
Secondary: Besma Smida
(219) 989-8374
bsmida@purdue.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Sustainable wireless communication, spectrum-efficent communication, energy-efficient data dissemination, wireless security, delay tolerant network.
Abstract of Award
Rochester Institute of Technology
"REU Site: Accessible Multimodal Interfaces"
Information and Computing Studies
Rochester, New York
Primary: Raja Kushalnagar
(585) 286-3333
rskics@rit.edu
Secondary: Stephanie Ludi
(585) 475-7407
salvse@rit.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: accessible computing, human centered computing, user interface and user experience, natural language understanding
Abstract of Award
Rochester Institute of Technology
REU Site: Computational Sensing
Department of Computer Science and College of Liberal Arts
Rochester, New York
Primary: Cecilia Ovesdotter Alm
(585) 475-7327
coagla@rit.edu
Secondary: Reynold Bailey
(585) 475-6181
rjb@cs.rit.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Acquisition, fusion, analysis, and interpretation of multisource sensing data related to humans, language, social network/environment signals, emotion-creative reactions, physical states/actions
Abstract of Award
Piscataway, New Jersey
Primary: Lazaros Gallos
(848) 445-0075
lgallos@dimacs.rutgers.edu
Secondary: Rebecca Wright
(848) 445-2001
rebecca.wright@rutgers.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Discrete mathematics, computer science, statistics, biomathematics, biomedical applications, homeland security applications
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Salisbury University
REU Site: EXERCISE - Explore Emerging Computing in Science and Engineering
Department of Mathematics and Computer Science
Salisbury, Maryland
Primary: Enyue (Annie) Lu
(410) 543-6144
ealu@salisbury.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Parallel computing,cloud computing,GPU computing,MapReduce computing,data mining,cybersecurity,image processing,GIS,concurrent software,multiprocessor architectures
Abstract of Award
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Primary: Juniper Lovato
(505) 946-2726
juniper@santafe.edu
Secondary: Cristopher D. Moore
moore@santafe.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Computational simulations, mathematical modeling, and statistical analysis of data of a physical, biological or social system; testing results against theoretical predictions and real-world data sets.
Comments: Participants’ main work is within the context of a small-group research project working with SFI mentors. Prior to a student’s SFI residency s/he is encouraged to complete SFI’s MOOC “Introduction t
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Computer and Information Science and Engineering
Siena College
Undergraduate Research Experience on Artificial Intelligence and Text Analysis
The Siena College Institute for Artificial Intelligence
Loudonville, New York
Primary: Sharon G. Small
(518) 786-5094
ssmall@siena.edu
Secondary: Larry Medsker
(518) 786-4198
lmedsker@siena.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Interactive information retrieval, social media information extraction, rap music lyric automated incitefulness analysis, public environment concerns information extraction, computational linguistics
Abstract of Award
81 items found, displaying 21 to 40.[First/Prev] 1 2 3 4 5 [Next/Last]

 

Back to Top of page