Skip to main content
Email Print Share

Discovery Research PreK-12  (DRK-12)


CONTACTS
Name Email Phone Room
Inquiries can  be made to DRLDRK12@nsf.gov (703)292-8620   
David  Campbell dcampbel@nsf.gov (703) 292-5093   
Julia  Clark jclark@nsf.gov (703) 292-5119   
Michael  Ford miford@nsf.gov (703) 292-5153   
David  L. Haury dhaury@nsf.gov (703) 292-5102   
Margret  Hjalmarson mhjalmar@nsf.gov (703) 292-4313   
Karen  King kking@nsf.gov (703) 292-5124   
Rebecca  Kruse rkruse@nsf.gov (703) 292-4211   
Julio  Lopez-Ferrao jlopezfe@nsf.gov (703) 292-5183   
H.  T. Martin htmartin@nsf.gov (703) 292-7016   
Joseph  Reed jreed@nsf.gov (703) 292-5187   
Ferdinand  Rivera frivera@nsf.gov (703) 292-4960   
Robert  Russell rlrussel@nsf.gov (703) 292-2995   

PROGRAM GUIDELINES

Solicitation  15-592

Important Information for Proposers

A revised version of the NSF Proposal & Award Policies & Procedures Guide (PAPPG) (NSF 16-1), is effective for proposals submitted, or due, on or after January 25, 2016. Please be advised that, depending on the specified due date, the guidelines contained in NSF 16-1 may apply to proposals submitted in response to this funding opportunity.

DUE DATES

Full Proposal Deadline Date:  December 5, 2016

First Monday in December, Annually Thereafter

SYNOPSIS

The Discovery Research PreK-12 program (DRK-12) seeks to significantly enhance the learning and teaching of science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) by PreK-12 students and teachers, through research and development of STEM education innovations and approaches. Projects in the DRK-12 program build on fundamental research in STEM education and prior research and development efforts that provide theoretical and empirical justification for proposed projects. Projects should result in research-informed and field-tested outcomes and products that inform teaching and learning. Teachers and students who participate in DRK-12 studies are expected to enhance their understanding and use of STEM content, practices and skills.

DRK-12 invites proposals that address immediate challenges that are facing preK-12 STEM education as well as those that anticipate radically different structures and functions of preK 12 teaching and learning. The DRK-12 program has three major research and development strands: (1) Assessment; (2) Learning; and (3) Teaching.  The program recognizes the synergy among the three strands and that there is some overlap among them. However, PIs should identify a clear focus of the proposed research efforts (i.e., assessment, learning, or teaching) consistent with the proposal’s main objectives and research questions. The program supports five types of projects: (1) Exploratory, (2) Design and Development, (3) Impact, (4) Implementation and Improvement, and (5) Conferences and Syntheses.  All five types of projects apply to each of the three DRK-12 strands.

RELATED URLS
A searchable database of the DR K-12 portfolio is available at www.cadrek12.org.

REVISIONS AND UPDATES

What Has Been Funded (Recent Awards Made Through This Program, with Abstracts)

Map of Recent Awards Made Through This Program

News