text-only page produced automatically by LIFT Text
Transcoder Skip all navigation and go to page contentSkip top navigation and go to directorate navigationSkip top navigation and go to page navigation
National Science Foundation HomeNational Science Foundation - Directorate for Geological Sciences (GEO)
Polar Programs (PLR)
design element
PLR Home
About PLR
Funding Opportunities
Career Opportunities
PLR Budget
Contact POLAR
Polar Programs site map
See Additional PLR Resources
View PLR Staff
GEO Organizations
Atmospheric and Geospace Sciences (AGS)
Earth Sciences (EAR)
Ocean Sciences (OCE)
Polar Programs (PLR)
Proposals and Awards
Proposal and Award Policies and Procedures Guide
Proposal Preparation and Submission
bullet Grant Proposal Guide
  bullet Grants.gov Application Guide
Award and Administration
bullet Award and Administration Guide
Award Conditions
Merit Review
NSF Outreach
Policy Office
Additional PLR Resources
Antarctic Sciences (ANT)
Antarctic Infrastructure and Logistics (AIL)
Arctic Sciences (ARC)
Polar Environment, Safety and Health (PESH)
PLR Subcommittee to the GEO Advisory Committee
Polar Program-supported workshops
Related Polar Links
Polar Publications list
POLAR webmaster
Data Management & Data Reporting Requirements for Research Awards Supported by Polar Programs

Division of Polar Programs Organization chart

antarctic program logo
artic program logo


  • Kelly Falkner, Director


  • Vacant, Senior Advisor, Policy Analyst & Operations
  • Peter West, Polar Outreach Manager
  • Winifred Reuning, Polar Programs Web Manager
  • Elizabeth Rom, Polar Education Liaison
  • Kimiko Bowens-Knox, Program Analyst
  • Erica Wallstrom, Albert Einstein Distinguished Educator Fellow
  • Pawnee Maiden, Administrative Officer
  • David Friscic, Technical Information Specialist
  • Angela Lyons, Program & Technology Analyst
  • Scot Arnold, Business Analyst
  • Dan King, IT Specialist (Contractor)
  • Andrew Backe, Program Analyst
  • Theodore Hancock, Program Specialist


  • Scott Borg, Section Head

  • Mark Kurz, Antarctic Earth Sciences Program Director
  • Thomas Wilch, Antarctic Earth Sciences Program Director
  • Peter Milne, Antarctic Ocean and Atmospheric Sciences Program Director
  • Paul Cutler, Antarctic Glaciology Program Director
  • Julie Palais, Antarctic Glaciology Program Director (on detail)
  • Charles Amsler, Antarctic Organisms and Ecosystems Program Director
  • Christian Fritsen, Antarctic Organisms and Ecosystems Program Director
  • Vladimir Papitashvili, Antarctic Astrophysics and Geospace Science Program Director
  • [Vacant], Antarctic Integrated System Sciences Program Director
  • Michael E. Jackson, Antarctic Research and Logistics Integration Program Manager
  • Nature McGinn, Antarctic Research & Logistics Integration Assoc. PD
  • Desiree Marshall, Program Coordination Specialist


  • Brian Stone, Section Head

  • George Blaisdell, Chief Program Manager
  • Paul Sheppard, Systems Manager, Operations and Logistics
  • Timothy McGovern, Ocean Project Manager
  • Jessie Crain, Research Support Manager
  • Ben D. Roth, Facilities Engineering Projects Manager
  • Peter A. Ridilla, Facilities Construction, Operations and Maintenance Manager
  • Arthur Brown, Manager, Specialized Support
  • Margaret Knuth, Operations Manager
  • Patrick Smith, Technology Development Manager
  • Tim Howard, IT Communication & Operations Manager
  • Michael Scheuerman, Aviation Program Manager
  • Russel McElyea, Antarctic Support Contract Specialist
  • Carlena Fooks, Program Coordination Specialist
  • Nadene Kennedy, Polar Coordination Specialist
  • William Henriksen, NSF Station Manager, Winter
  • Terry Melton, NSF Station Manager, Summer

  • Contractor, Military, and Other Federal Agency Staff
    • Rick McKeown, ANG Liaison
    • Greg Jones, DOD/USAF Liaison
    • Desari Mattox, USAP Information Security Manager (Contractor)


  • Eric Saltzman, Section Head

  • Vacant, Deputy Section Head
  • Neil Swanberg, Arctic System Science Program Director
  • Diane McKnight, Associate Arctic System Science Program Director
  • Anna Kerttula de Echave, Arctic Social Sciences Program Director
  • Hedy Edmonds, Arctic Natural Sciences Program Director
  • William Wiseman, Arctic Natural Sciences Program Director
  • William Ambrose, Arctic Observing Network Program Director
  • Patrick Haggerty, Research Support and Logistics Director
  • Renee Crain, Research Support and Logistics Director
  • [Vacant], Program Director, Cyber Infrastructure & Sensors
  • [Vacant], Program Director Arctic Natural Sciences
  • [Vacant], Junior Project Manager (Contractor)
  • Monte Ingram, Planning & Controls Manager (Contractor)
  • Linda Izzard, Program Coordination Specialist
  • Karen Sloane, Program Specialist
  • Roberto Delgado, AAAS Fellow
  • Randall Sisco, Arctic Support Contract Specialst


  • Susanne LaFrata, Section Head
  • Polly Penhale, Environmental Officer & Interim Medical Officer
  • Anthony C. Pierpoint, Safety and Health Officer
  • Gwendolyn Adams, Safety and Occupational Health Manager
  • Vacant, Program Specialist
  • Vacant, Environmental Policy Specialist
  • Li Ling Hamady, Environmental Policy Specialist

Names in italics indicate that the individual is a temporary employee.

Last updated: 22 July 2015


Email this pagePrint this page
Back to Top of page