text-only page produced automatically by LIFT Text Transcoder Skip all navigation and go to page contentSkip top navigation and go to directorate navigationSkip top navigation and go to page navigation
National Science Foundation


REU Sites

REU Sites: Materials Research

The NSF Division of Materials Research (DMR) supports REU Sites that focus on research in materials science and related areas, including condensed matter physics, materials chemistry and physics, and materials engineering. Most DMR-supported Materials Research Science and Engineering Centers (MRSEC) and National Facilities offer REU opportunities each summer as well. REU sites supported by DMR involve research in various aspects of condensed matter physics; solid state chemistry and polymers; materials and condensed matter theory; metals, ceramics, biomaterials, and electronic and photonic materials. See this Google map of DMR-funded REU Sites.

Please report errors in the list below by writing to reu.dmr@nsf.gov.

74 items found, displaying 1 to 20.[First/Prev] 1 2 3 4 [Next/Last]
Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
Birmingham, Alabama
Primary: Professor Yogesh Vohra
205-934-6662
ykvohra@uab.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Theoretical and Experimental Research in Materials
Comments: Includes participation of pre-college teachers
Abstract of Award
Tuskegee University
REU in Nano-Bio Materials Science and Engineering
Materials Science & Engineering
Tuskegee, Alabama
Primary: Shaik Zainuddin
(334) 727-8501
szainuddin@mytu.tuskegee.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: synthesis of nanoparticles for bio-med applications; nanosensors for salmonella enterica detection; nanoscale drug delivery for tumors; structure-property relationship of nano-bio composites
Abstract of Award
University of Arkansas
REU Site: University of Arkansas, Directing Students to Scientific Careers
Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Primary: David Paul
(501) 575-5190
dpaul@uark.edu
Secondary: Julie Stenken
(501) 575-7018
jstenken@uark.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: chemistry, biochemistry, materials science
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Materials Research
University of California - Merced
Applications in Modern Materials
Chemistry & Chemical Biology
Merced, California
Primary: Carrie Menke
(209) 228-4318
cmenke@ucmerced.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Chemistry, Chemical Biology, Materials Science
Comments: As the tenth (and newest) campus of the University of California system, participant benefit from amazing resources in a close-knit community of diverse scholars
Abstract of Award
University of California - Riverside
Materials Connection REU
Chemistry
Riverside, California
Primary: Ludwig Bartels
(951) 827-5535
ludwig.bartels@ucr.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Chemistry, Physics, Electrical Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, and Chemical Engineering
Abstract of Award
University of California - Santa Barbara
Materials Research Science and Engineering Center (MRSEC)
Santa Barbara, California
Primary: Professor Craig Hawker
(805) 893-7161
hawker@mrl.ucsb.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Polymers and composites, oxides, soft materials, molecular beam epitaxy
Comments: The MRSEC host numerous undergraduate research opportunities
Abstract of Award
University of California - Davis
REU Site: UC Davis Physics Department
Department of Physics
Davis, California
Primary: Rena Zieve
530-219-8155
reu@london.ucdavis.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: condensed matter, biophysics, complex systems, nuclear physics, high energy physics and astrophysics
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Materials Research
Boulder, Colorado
Primary: Professor Noel Clark
303-492-6420
noel.clark@colorado.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Liquid crystals, optical materials and devices
Comments: The MRSEC conducts a summer REU program.
Abstract of Award
Colorado School of Mines
REU Site: Advanced Metallurgical Design for Transportation, Infrastructure, and Energy
Metallurgical and Materials Engineering
Golden, Colorado
Primary: Kip O Findley
303-273-3906
kfindley@mines.edu
Secondary: Michael J Kaufman
303-273-3009
mkaufman@mines.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: physical metallurgy research, processing-structure-property relationships of ferrous alloys, non-ferrous alloys, modern welding and joining technologies, and solidification
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
University of Colorado, Boulder
REU Site: Physics/JILA
Physics, JILA
Boulder, Colorado
Primary: Professor Dan Dessau
303-492-1607
Dessau@Colorado.edu
Secondary: Annemiek Kamphuis
303-492-1685
Annemick.Kamphuis@colorado.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Atomic, Molecular, Optical and Condensed Matter Physics
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Materials Research
Colorado School of Mines
Site: Research Experiences for Undergraduates in Renewable Energy
Department of Physics
Goldon, Colorado
Primary: Charles A Stone, IV
303-273-3762
cstone@mines.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Next Generation Photovoltaics, Advanced Membranes
Abstract of Award
New Haven, Connecticut
Primary: Charles H. Ahn, Ph.D.
charles.ahn@yale.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Groups focus on:(1) chemical, electronic, and magnetic properties at complex oxide interfaces, and (2) developing new bulk metallic glasses to in turn enable surface property engineering
Abstract of Award
Washington, District Of Columbia
Primary: Prof. Jeffrey Urbach
(202) 687-6594
urbach@physics.georgetown.edu
Secondary: Prof. Amy Liu
(202) 687-6583
liu@physics.georgetown.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: esperimental, computational, and theoretical nanoscale physics, soft matter physics, device physics, biophysics, cold-atom systems
Abstract of Award
Washington, District Of Columbia
Primary: Steven Meyers, Ph.D.
(202) 872-6365
s_meyers@acs.org
Research Topics/Keywords: chemical and materials science
Comments: Students will conduct research in Germany, Italy, Singapore, or the United Kingdom for 10-12 weeks under the guidance of faculty and graduate students
Abstract of Award
Department of the Navy
REU Site: Minority Research Opportunities in Science and Engineering at the US Naval Research Laboratory
Naval Research Laboratory
Washington D.C., District Of Columbia
Primary: Dr. Paul Charles
(202) 404-6064
pcharles@cbmse.nrl.navy.mil
Research Topics/Keywords: Materials science and engineering, biosensors and biofuels,optical materials.
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Engineering, Department of Defense (DoD)
Tallahassee, Florida
Primary: Jose A. Sanchez
(850) 645-0033
sanchez@magnet.fsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Materials and phenomena at high magnetic fields
Abstract of Award
University of South Florida
NSF REU Program in Applied Physics
Physics
Tampa, Florida
Primary: Sarath Witanachchi
(813) 974-2789
switanach@usf.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Materials physics/condensed matter physics, biophysics/biomedical physics, AMO (atomic, molecular and optical) physics
Comments: This REU provides a great experience for GU students who are interested in pursuing interdisciplinary graduate programs in related areas
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Physics
University of Florida
REU Site: Infrastructure Materials
Dept. of Materials Science & Engineering
Gainesville, Florida
Primary: Elliot P Douglas
(352) 846-2836
edoug@mse.ufl.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Research targets issues in understanding the behavior of infrastructure materials and components, particularly with respect to longterm durability and performance.
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Engineering
Gainesville, Florida
Primary: Professor Selman Hershfield
352-392-9387
selman@phys.ufl.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Materials physics
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Georgia Institute of Technology
Materials Research Science and Engineering Center: The Georgia Tech Laboratory for New Electronic Materials
School of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
Atlanta, Georgia
Primary: Prof. Dennis Hess
(404) 894-5922
dennis.hess@chbe.gatech.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: science and technology of graphene and electronic materials
Abstract of Award
74 items found, displaying 1 to 20.[First/Prev] 1 2 3 4 [Next/Last]

Search Again

 

Back to Top of page