text-only page produced automatically by LIFT Text Transcoder Skip all navigation and go to page contentSkip top navigation and go to directorate navigationSkip top navigation and go to page navigation
National Science Foundation
design element
News From the Field
For the News Media
Special Reports
Research Overviews
NSF-Wide Investments
Speeches & Lectures
NSF Director's Newsletter
Multimedia Gallery
News Archive
News by Research Area
Arctic & Antarctic
Astronomy & Space
Chemistry & Materials
Earth & Environment
People & Society

Email this pagePrint this page

Press Release 99-034
President Clinton Names Outstanding Mathematics and Science Teachers

May 3, 1999

This material is available primarily for archival purposes. Telephone numbers or other contact information may be out of date; please see current contact information at media contacts.

President Clinton has named 208 teachers to receive the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST), the nation's highest honor for mathematics and science teaching in elementary and secondary schools.

"In winning this award, these teachers have achieved the equivalent of a winning three-point shot in the final seconds of the NBA championship playoffs," said Rita Colwell, Director of the National Science Foundation (NSF), which administers the award. "Excellence in math and science teaching shapes our children's intellectual development, strengthens our educational system, and advances the national goal to vastly improve the education of our children. We owe it to the students to cherish and honor their best teachers."

Teachers nominated for this award go through a rigorous review process ending with White House approval from the President and the Assistant to the President for Science and Technology, Dr. Neal Lane. Awardees are selected on the basis of the excellence of their teaching, leadership abilities, continuing education activities and dedication as teachers.

The award winners will be given a presidential citation, and their schools will receive a National Science Foundation (NSF) grant of $7,500 to be used under the direction of the awardee over a five-year period. Awardees will also be honored during an event in Washington, D.C., June 6-12, 1999.

Established in 1983 by the White House and administered by NSF, this annual award is given to up to 216 elementary and secondary school teachers representing the 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, U.S. Territories and the U.S. Department of Defense school system.


Editors: A searchable list of the awardees is available on the web at: http://www.paemst.org/awardees.cfm

See also :

  • Statement by Rita Colwell, Director, National Science Foundation
  • Fact Sheet on PAEMST
  • Key Findings of the PAEMST Survey

Media Contacts
K. Lee Herring, NSF, (703) 292-8070, kherring@nsf.gov

Program Contacts
Janice M. Earle, NSF, (703) 292-5097, jearle@nsf.gov

The National Science Foundation (NSF) is an independent federal agency that supports fundamental research and education across all fields of science and engineering. In fiscal year (FY) 2016, its budget is $7.5 billion. NSF funds reach all 50 states through grants to nearly 2,000 colleges, universities and other institutions. Each year, NSF receives more than 48,000 competitive proposals for funding and makes about 12,000 new funding awards. NSF also awards about $626 million in professional and service contracts yearly.

 Get News Updates by Email 

Useful NSF Web Sites:
NSF Home Page: http://www.nsf.gov
NSF News: http://www.nsf.gov/news/
For the News Media: http://www.nsf.gov/news/newsroom.jsp
Science and Engineering Statistics: http://www.nsf.gov/statistics/
Awards Searches: http://www.nsf.gov/awardsearch/



Email this pagePrint this page
Back to Top of page