Payments and Analytics Branch

Branch Chief: Jesse Simons
jsimons@nsf.gov or (703) 292-4888

MISSION STATEMENT

To support the NSF mission by leading comprehensive post-award grant and commercial financial processes, including payment operations, financial analytics, monitoring and compliance, and stakeholder outreach.

GRANT ACCOUNTANTS

Chris Berner, Supervisory Accountant - cmberner@nsf.gov or (703) 292-4335

Dorothy Battle - dbattle@nsf.gov or (703) 292-4440
AL, AR, CT, FL, GA, KY, LA, MA, ME, MS, NC, NH, PR, RI, SC, TN, VT, VA, USP & Foreign Grantees

Ilene Caruso - icaruso@nsf.gov or (703) 292-8334
AK, AZ, CA, DC, DE, HI, MD, NJ, NV, NY, OR, PA, WA, WV and All Non-ACM$ SBIR

Justin Poll - jpoll@nsf.gov or (703) 292-8775
CO, ID, IA, IL, IN, KS, MI, MN, MO, MT, NE, NM, ND, OH, SD, UT, WI, WY

Diana Phan - dphan@nsf.gov or (703) 292-7866
OK, TX

COMMERCIAL FINANCIAL MANAGEMENT SPECIALISTS

Sherri Payne - spayne@nsf.gov or (703) 292-7957
Team Lead

Rebecca Magowan - rmagowan@nsf.gov or (703) 292-4571
Travel Card Program

Lucentia (Tia) Davidson - ldavidso@nsf.gov or (703) 292-4464
SF 1164 Payments, IPA/VSEE Payments, GUEST/Travel Payments

Nicole Cyrus - ncyrus@nsf.gov or (703) 292-5061
IPP Vendor Invoices

BRANCH SERVICES

  • Managing the NSF award payment processes
  • Monitoring awardee compliance with cash management and financial reporting requirements
  • Administering the Research.gov financial services
  • Reconciling awardee payment and expenditure information to the NSF Award System and NSF iTRAK - core financial management system.
  • Providing subject matter expertise for post award financial management
  • Advising NSF staff and awardees on the financial requirements of NSF awards
  • Conducting outreach to awardee institutions
  • Processing payments for purchase orders, contracts, and training
  • Processing obligation close-outs for Concur and Guest
  • Processing payments for Concur travel reimbursements, local travel and other related expenses via SF-1164
  • Processing IPA payments for per diem, supplemental pay, lost consulting and fringe benefits
  • Managing the Invoice Processing Platform (IPP) system for NSF
  • Processing daily purchase card payments
  • Recording airline ticket transportation charges for both Concur and Guest Obligations
  • Processing Accounting Code String (ACS) changes for purchase card and IPP transactions

WEBINAR DOWNLOADS

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)

Answers to common questions about the Award Cash Management Service (ACM$), Program Income Reporting, and other cash management topics can be found at the following FAQ: Frequently Asked Questions. For all other grant payment questions, please feel free to email us at the GCMS mailbox.

OTHER COMMERCIAL PAYMENT FAQ

  1. I served on a panel, when will I receive reimbursement?

    Please contact the office that invited you to the panel.

  2. I traveled on behalf of NSF and have submitted my expenses, when will I receive reimbursement?

    Please contact the office for which you traveled.

  3. I submitted an invoice for payment, when will it be paid?

    Please check your account online at https://www.ipp.gov for payment updates, if you have further questions contact the office for which you provided goods or services.

  4. How do I request travel obligation close-out?

    Send an email to DFM Travel Close Out (dfmtravelclose@nsf.gov)

For all other commercial payment questions, please feel free to email us at the CCMS mailbox.