Email Print Share

Moore to join Antarctic Sciences Section

October 11, 2019

Robert Moore will join OPP’s Antarctic Sciences Section on Oct. 15 as #Antarctic Astrophysics and Geospace Sciences (AAGS) program director.

Vladimir Papitashvili, the current AAGS program director, will remain with the section, focusing more on the large research facilities, such as the IceCube Neutrino Observatory and cosmic microwave background telescopes, at NSF’s Amundsen-Scott South Pole Station.

Moore, who received his doctorate in electrical engineering from Stanford University is the Preeminence University Term Professor in the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department at the University of Florida, where he has served since 2007.

Moore’s research interests are in non-linear, energetic interactions in the ionosphere; remote-sensing applications of ELF/VLF wave propagation in the Earth-ionosphere waveguide, including global position, navigation, and timing solutions; both the direct and the indirect effects of electromagnetic radiation emanating from lightning on the lower ionosphere/upper thermosphere, with particular emphasis on measurements in the ELF/VLF frequency range; and applications of ELF/VLF propagation and material penetration.

The National Science Foundation (NSF) is an independent federal agency that supports fundamental research and education across all fields of science and engineering. In fiscal year (FY) 2020, its budget is $8.3 billion. NSF funds reach all 50 states through grants to nearly 2,000 colleges, universities and other institutions. Each year, NSF receives more than 50,000 competitive proposals for funding and makes about 12,000 new funding awards.

mail icon Get News Updates by Email 

Useful NSF Web Sites:
NSF Home Page:
NSF News:
For the News Media:
Science and Engineering Statistics:
Awards Searches: