SBE awards 23 new postdoctoral fellowships supporting early-career scientists

Close of a woman wearing glasses. Computer code is reflected in the lenses.

SBE supports highly qualified early-career scientists across a range of disciplines.

October 14, 2020

The National Science Foundation’s Social, Behavioral and Economic Sciences Directorate (SBE) is supporting highly qualified early-career scientists as they embark on research projects exploring a range of topics critical to our daily lives and communities, including human learning and cognition, communication between infants and caregivers, coping with violence and broadening participation in STEM fields. After a rigorous peer review process, 23 new postdoctoral research fellowships across a range of social, behavioral and economic science disciplines have been awarded for 2020.

“We’re excited to provide support for the next generation of scholars conducting cutting-edge research,” says Josie Welkom, director of SBE’s Postdoctoral Research Fellowship program. “With the mentorship of top scientists in their fields, the fellows represent the future of the social, behavioral and economic sciences.”

In addition to supporting fundamental exploratory research, SBE’s Postdoctoral Research Fellowship program also seeks to enhance the participation of underrepresented groups in science while providing an opportunity for advanced training under the guidance of a sponsoring scientist. The fellowships also help prepare doctoral-level scientists for careers in U.S. industry, academia or government.

For additional information, including frequently asked questions and award abstracts, visit the SBE Postdoctoral Research Fellowship program.

2020 Postdoctoral Research Fellows in the Social, Behavioral and Economic Sciences:

Analia Albuja (Duke University)
Sponsoring scientist: Sarah Gaither

Sophia Borgias (University of Nevada, Reno)
Sponsoring scientist: Kate Berry

Anthony DeMattee (Emory University)
Sponsoring scientist: Jeffrey Staton

Anne Therese Frederiksen (University of California, Irvine)
Sponsoring scientist: Judith Kroll

Cameron Hecht (University of Texas, Austin)
Sponsoring scientist: David Yeager

Catherine Insel (Columbia University)
Sponsoring scientist: Daphna Shohamy

Natasha Johnson (University of Michigan)
Sponsoring scientist: Riana Anderson

Jessica Kosie (Princeton University)
Sponsoring scientist: Casey Lew-Williams

Zuhaib Mahmood (Duke University)
Sponsoring scientist: Kyle Beardsley

Naomi Martisius (University of Tulsa)
Sponsoring scientist: Danielle A Macdonald

Tasseli McKay (Cornell University)
Sponsoring scientist: Christopher Wildeman

Ursula Moffitt (Northwestern University)
Sponsoring scientist: Leoandra Rogers

Morgan Moyer (Stanford University)
Sponsoring scientist: Judith Degen

William Nanavati (Portland State University)
Sponsoring scientist: Andres Holz

Sofía Pacheco-Forés (University of Arizona)
Sponsoring scientist: James Watson

Corey Pech (University of Michigan)
Sponsoring scientist: Elizabeth Armstrong

Eric Pelzl (Pennsylvania State University)
Sponsoring scientist: Janet van Hell

Whitney Polk (University of Pennsylvania)
Sponsoring scientist: Howard Stevenson

Anastasia Quintana (University of California Santa Barbara)
Sponsoring scientist: Steven Gaines

Anna Ragni (California State University, Los Angeles)
Sponsoring scientist: Ashley Heers

Nestor Tulagan (University of California, Irvine)
Sponsoring scientist: Sandra Simpkins

Sophia Vinci-Booher (Indiana University, Bloomington)
Sponsoring scientist: Franco Pestilli

Heidi Vuletich (Indiana University, Bloomington)
Sponsoring scientist: Amanda Diekman

Please note that Postdoctoral Research Fellowships are awarded directly to each individual, not their institution.

The U.S. National Science Foundation propels the nation forward by advancing fundamental research in all fields of science and engineering. NSF supports research and people by providing facilities, instruments and funding to support their ingenuity and sustain the U.S. as a global leader in research and innovation. With a fiscal year 2023 budget of $9.5 billion, NSF funds reach all 50 states through grants to nearly 2,000 colleges, universities and institutions. Each year, NSF receives more than 40,000 competitive proposals and makes about 11,000 new awards. Those awards include support for cooperative research with industry, Arctic and Antarctic research and operations, and U.S. participation in international scientific efforts.

mail icon Get News Updates by Email 

Connect with us online
NSF website:
NSF News:
For News Media:
Awards database:

Follow us on social