This document has been archived.

Skip To Content Skip To Left Navigation
NSF Logo Search GraphicGuide To Programs GraphicImage Library GraphicSite Map GraphicHelp GraphicPrivacy Policy Graphic
OLPA Header Graphic

Media Advisory


NSF PA/M 03-18 - March 27, 2003

Nanotechnology Leaders to Discuss National Research Priorities and Challenges at NNI 2003
NNI conference to feature progress and plans from government agencies and nanotechnology research centers

The nation's leaders in nanoscale science and engineering will discuss research priorities and challenges at National Nanotechnology Initiative (NNI) 2003, being held April 2-4, 2003, at the Omni Shoreham Hotel in Washington, D.C. The speakers at NNI 2003 will provide status reports from nine departments and agencies in the U.S. nanotechnology research initiative, the newly established NNI centers and networks, and the nanotechnology industry.

The annual conference will review the NNI program, highlight research and advances that have emerged since the start of the initiative in 2000, announce how the proposed $774 million for fiscal year 2003 will be spent, give a perspective on the future directions of NNI, and discuss how the new allocation of funds will affect already executed research and the timeline for development and commercialization.

The NNI 2003 schedule boasts a "who's who" in the nation's nanotechnology leadership. The conference is chaired by Mihail "Mike" Roco, National Science Foundation (NSF) senior advisor and chair of NSTC's Subcommittee on Nanoscale Science, Engineering and Technology (NSET). Conference attendees will hear from U.S. Senator George Allen (R-VA); Philip J. Bond, Undersecretary for Technology with the Department of Commerce; Richard Russell, Associate Director for Technology with the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy; Nobel Laureate Richard Smalley of Rice University and representatives of all major agencies contributing to NNI.

Attendees will hear from representatives of the Department of Defense (DOD), Department of Energy (DOE), NASA, the National Institutes of Health, the National Institute of Standards and Technology, the Environmental Protection Agency and the U.S. Department of Agriculture. The roster of speakers also includes scientists representing the major nanoscale science and engineering centers supported by NSF, NASA, DOE and DOD.

For more on NNI 2003, see Members of the media should see to register for a press pass.

At a special NNI 2003 media event April 3, a panel of scientists and laboratory directors will discuss future directions for U.S. nanotechnology research and respond to questions from the press. The panelists will include NSET Chair Mike Roco, Nobel Laureate Richard Smalley and leading scientists from the research programs of the NSF, NASA, DOE and DOD.



Mihail Roco, Chair, NSTC's Subcommittee on Nanoscale Science, Engineering and Technology (NSET), and National Science Foundation
Richard Smalley, Nobel Laureate and University Professor, Rice University
Supriyo Datta, Director, NASA Institute for Nanoelectronics and Computing, Purdue University
Mark Lundstrom, Director, NSF Network for Computational Nanotechnology, Purdue University
Terry Michalske, Director, Center for Integrated Nanotechnologies, Sandia National Laboratories
James S. Murday, Executive Secretary, NSET, and Acting Director, National Nanotechnology Coordination Office


NNI 2003 press conference on future directions for nanotechnology research


Thursday, April 3, 2003
5:15 p.m. - 6:15 p.m. (immediately following the day's last session)


Governors Conference Room
Omni Shoreham Hotel
2500 Calvert Street NW (at Connecticut Ave.)
Washington, DC 20008

The panelists will discuss the following topics during the main NNI 2003 program:

  • Mihail Roco, "The National Nanotechnology Initiative: Plans for the Next Five Years," Thursday, 8:15 a.m. - 9 a.m.

  • Mark Lundstrom, "NSF Sponsored Network on Nanoscale Modeling and Simulation," Thursday, 9:30 a.m. - 10 a.m.

  • Richard Smalley, "Nanotechnology for Energy Prosperity," Thursday, 12 p.m. - 12:30 p.m.

  • Group Discussion: "What Are the Future Nanotechnology Research Needs?" Chaired by Richard Smalley, James Murday and Mike Roco, Thursday, 4:45 p.m. - 5:15 p.m.

  • Terry Michalske, "The Department of Energy (DOE) Network of Centers," Friday, 10:30 a.m. - 11 a.m.

  • Supriyo Datta, "NASA Institute for Nanoelectronics and Computing at Purdue University," Friday, 2 p.m. - 2:45 p.m.

  • James Murday, Bio-Chem-Radiative-Explosive Detection and Protection Using Nanotechnology, Friday, 3:30 p.m. - 4 p.m.

For more information contact:

Media contact:

 David Hart



NSF supports a wide range of fundamental research and education activities in nanoscale science and engineering. With a nanoscience budget exceeding $200 million, NSF supported approximately 1,400 active awards in fiscal year 2002 and 15 nanotechnology research and education centers, which focus on electronics, biology, optoelectronics, advanced materials and engineering. For more on NSF Nanoscale Science and Engineering, see

NSF is an independent federal agency that supports fundamental research and education across all fields of science and engineering, with an annual budget of nearly $5 billion. NSF funds reach all 50 states through grants to nearly 2,000 universities and institutions. Each year, NSF receives about 30,000 competitive requests for funding, and makes about 10,000 new funding awards. NSF also awards over $200 million in professional and service contracts yearly.

Receive official NSF news electronically through the e-mail delivery system, NSFnews. To subscribe, send an e-mail message to In the body of the message, type "subscribe nsfnews" and then type your name. (Ex.: "subscribe nsfnews John Smith")

Useful Web Sites:
NSF Home Page:
News Highlights:
Science Statistics:
Awards Searches:



National Science Foundation
Office of Legislative and Public Affairs
4201 Wilson Boulevard
Arlington, Virginia 22230, USA
Tel: 703-292-8070
FIRS: 800-877-8339 | TDD: 703-292-5090

NSF Logo Graphic