Skip To Content
NSF Logo Search GraphicGuide To Programs GraphicImage Library GraphicSite Map GraphicHelp GraphicPrivacy Policy Graphic
OLPA Header Graphic

NSF Press Release

This document has been archived.


NSF PR 00-27 - May 9, 2000

Media contact:

 Charles Drum

 (703) 292-8070

Program contact:

 Janice M. Earle

 (703) 292-8613

This material is available primarily for archival purposes. Telephone numbers or other contact information may be out of date; please see current contact information at media contacts.

White House Names K-12 Science and Mathematics Teaching Award Winners

President Clinton today named 200 teachers to receive the 1999 Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST), the nation's highest honor for mathematics and science teachers in grades K through 12.

The awardees hail from all 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, U.S. territories, and schools operated in the U. S. and overseas by the Department of Defense. They teach in public and private schools and in urban, suburban, and rural school districts. The National Science Foundation (NSF) administers PAEMST on behalf of the White House. The program was established in 1983.

"America's continuing success in the international technological revolution depends heavily upon building our strength in mathematics and science education," says Rita Colwell, NSF director. "The teachers we honor here are educating those who will lead this country--and the world--in creating, developing, and putting to work new ideas and new technologies."

Each year, after an initial selection process at the state or territorial level, a national panel of distinguished scientists, mathematicians and educators recommends teachers to receive a presidential award - one elementary and one secondary math teacher and one elementary and one secondary science teacher from each jurisdiction. The 1999 recipients were selected from among 648 finalists.

Awardees each receive a $7,500 educational grant for his or her school, a presidential citation and a trip to Washington, D.C. for a series of recognition events.


For a list of individual awardees see:



National Science Foundation
Office of Legislative and Public Affairs
4201 Wilson Boulevard
Arlington, Virginia 22230, USA
Tel: 703-292-8070
FIRS: 800-877-8339 | TDD: 703-292-5090

NSF Logo Graphic