Skip To Content
NSF Logo Search GraphicGuide To Programs GraphicImage Library GraphicSite Map GraphicHelp GraphicPrivacy Policy Graphic
OLPA Header Graphic

This document has been archived.


NSF Press Release


NSF PR 00-59 - September 7, 2000

Media contacts:

 Bill Noxon

 (703) 292-8070


 Charles Drum

 (703) 292-8070

Program contact:

 Victor Santiago

 (703) 292-8633

This material is available primarily for archival purposes. Telephone numbers or other contact information may be out of date; please see current contact information at media contacts.

President Clinton Honors Science, Mathematics and Engineering Mentors

Ten individuals and ten institutions today received the 2000 Presidential Award for Excellence in Science, Mathematics and Engineering Mentoring. The award is administered and funded through the National Science Foundation (NSF).

With the award, President Clinton today honored individuals and groups that have been leaders in encouraging minorities, women and persons with disabilities to pursue careers in scientific, engineering and technical fields.

"We must draw upon our nation's full talent pool to maintain U.S. leadership across the frontiers of scientific knowledge," the President said. "We honor these individuals and institutions who have contributed so much through their mentoring efforts to achieve greater diversity throughout the ranks of our scientific and engineering workforce."

"Mentors have propelled and guided my own life and career," said NSF deputy director Joseph Bordogna. "In this technological era of fast-paced change, it is easier than ever to be left behind. Mentorship provides opportunities for diverse individuals and groups to prosper in ways that move the nation ahead."

Up to 10 individuals and 10 institutions annually may qualify for the national award, which includes a $10,000-grant and a commemorative presidential certificate.

The mentoring awards recognize a long-term commitment to providing opportunities for greater participation in science and engineering by all Americans. The awards do this by honoring those whose personal and organizational activities have increased participation of underrepresented groups in mathematics, engineering and science from kindergarten through graduate level.


Attachment: Recipients of the 2000 Presidential Award for Excellence in Science, Mathematics and Engineering Mentoring




Daniel L. Akins, City College of New York, New York, NY
James F. P. Cotter, University of Minnesota, Morris, MN
Vallie W. Guthrie, North Carolina A&T State University, Greensboro, NC
Glenn D. Kuehn, New Mexico State University, Las Cruces, NM
Juan Lopez-Garriga, University of Puerto Rico, Mayaguez, Mayaguez, PR
Abdulalim Abdullah Shabazz, Lincoln University, Lincoln University, PA
Carlos G. Spaht, II, Louisiana State University, Shreveport, Shreveport, LA
Michael F. Summers, University of Maryland, Baltimore County, Baltimore, MD
Luis P. Villarreal, University of California, Irvine, Irvine, CA
Maria Elena Zavala, California State University, Northridge, Northridge, CA


American Society for Microbiology, Washington, D.C., Board of Education and Training - Clifford W. Houston
Committee on Institutional Cooperation (Big Ten), Champaign, Ill., Summer Research Opportunities Program, - Jean E. Girves
Humboldt State University, Arcata, Calif., Indian Natural Resources, Sciences and Engineering Program - Russell V. Boham
North Carolina State University, Raleigh, College of Engineering Programs for Minorities and Women - Sarah A. Rajala
University of Alabama at Birmingham, Office of Minority and Special Programs - Louis Dale
California Mathematics, Engineering, Science Achievement (MESA) - Michael Aldaco
University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, Women in Science and Engineering (WISE) - Cinda-Sue G. Davis
University of New Mexico, Albuquerque, Minority Engineering, Mathematics and Science (MEMS) - Maurice Thompson
Washington Mathematics, Engineering, Science Achievement (MESA) - Patricia M. MacGowan
Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education, Compact for Faculty Diversity - Ken Pepion




National Science Foundation
Office of Legislative and Public Affairs
4201 Wilson Boulevard
Arlington, Virginia 22230, USA
Tel: 703-292-8070
FIRS: 800-877-8339 | TDD: 703-292-5090

NSF Logo Graphic