

National Science Foundation 2415 Eisenhower Avenue Alexandria, VA 22314

Office of the Assistant Director Directorate for Geosciences

July 20, 2022

AD/GEO Bulletin No. 2022-08

PERSONNEL

Subject: Appointment of Dr. Anne Johansen as Division Director for Division of Atmospheric and Geospace Sciences (AGS)

I am pleased to announce the appointment of Dr. Anne Johansen as Director of the Division of Atmospheric and Geospace Sciences (AGS) effective August 14, 2022. This is a career Senior Executive Service position.

Dr. Johansen came to NSF in 2019 as an IPA Program Director in the Atmospheric Chemistry Program. Following a term as acting Section Head for the Atmosphere Section in AGS, she was selected as Section Head of the Atmosphere Section in 2021. Within AGS, Dr. Johansen has focused on data-driven decision making and strategic partnerships with key groups outside the division. She has also played a pivotal role in developing the GEO strategy for climate change and related research through her leadership in the GEO Climate Challenge group. Additionally, Dr. Johansen is a founding member of the Los Amigos NSF Employee Resource Group for Hispanic STEM scholars.

Prior to this appointment, Dr. Johansen was Professor of Analytical and Environmental Chemistry at Central Washington University, where she also served as the Director of both the Environmental Studies Program and the Environmental Testing Laboratory. Dr. Johansen's research has focused on trace metal chemistry in the atmosphere and surface waters in the context of environmental and human health, and she has advised many dozens of graduate and undergraduate student researchers. She holds a PhD in Atmospheric Chemistry from the California Institute of Technology.

I also want to take this opportunity to sincerely thank Dr. Candace Major for her service as AGS Division Director over the past year and a half. She is an exceptional leader and during her tenure she made significant contributions both to AGS and the Geosciences Directorate.

Please join me in congratulating Dr. Johansen. She may be reached via email at ajohanse@nsf.gov.

Alexandra Isern Assistant Director

E-Distribution: GEO Staff

NSF Executive Leadership Team

NSF Division Directors

NSF Deputy Division Directors

NSF Program Officers

NSF Administrative Managers Group