Email Print Share

News Release 97-054

Presidential Awards Honor Mentoring Efforts of 19 Individuals and Institutions

September 11, 1997

This material is available primarily for archival purposes. Telephone numbers or other contact information may be out of date; please see current contact information at media contacts.

The White House today announced that ten individuals and nine institutions are winners of the 1997 Presidential Award for Excellence in Science, Mathematics and Engineering Mentoring.

This is the second year of the award, administered and funded through the National Science Foundation (NSF). The awards recognize outstanding individual efforts and organizational programs to increase the participation of underrepresented groups in science, mathematics and engineering at the K-12 through graduate level. The awardees were honored at a ceremony held at the White House's Old Executive Office Building.

In 1994, the Clinton Administration's science policy blueprint, Science in the National Interest, stated goals to produce the best trained scientists and engineers for the 21st century and to enhance scientific and technological literacy of all Americans. The presidential mentoring awards are an outgrowth of these goals.

"Science can serve the values and interests of all Americans," stated the president in his commencement address at Morgan State University, "but only if all Americans are given a chance to participate in science."

Up to 10 individuals and 10 institutions annually may qualify for the award, which includes a $10,000 grant and a commemorative presidential certificate.

The mentoring awards recognize a long-term commitment to providing opportunities for greater participation in science and engineering by all Americans




Carlos Castillo-Chavez, Cornell University
David Ferguson, State University of New York - Stony Brook
Cora Ingrum, University of Pennsylvania
Johnnye Mae Jones, Hampton University
Robert Megginson, University of Michigan
Geraldine Richmond, University of Oregon
Charles Thompson, University of Massachusetts - Lowell
William Y. Velez, University of Arizona
Isiah Warner, Louisiana State University
Karan Watson, Texas A & M University


American Indian Science and Engineering Society (AISES), Boulder, Colo.
Association for Women in Science (AWIS), Washington, D.C.
Cooperating Hampton Roads Organizations for Minorities in Engineering, (CHROME)
Disabilities, Opportunities, Inter-networking and Technology (DO-IT), University of Washington
Pre-Freshmen Engineering Program (PREP), University of Texas - San Antonio
Program for the Retention of Engineering Students (PRES), City University of New York
Southeastern Consortium for Minorities in Engineering (now SECME, Inc.), Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta, Ga.
Scientific Knowledge for Indian Learning and Leadership (SKILL), Oglala Lakota College, S. Dak.
Women In Engineering Mentoring Program (WIEMP), Purdue University, West Lafayette, Ind.

Media Contacts
William C. Noxon, NSF, (703) 292-8070, email:

Program Contacts
Roosevelt Calbert, NSF, (703) 292-8640, email:

The National Science Foundation (NSF) is an independent federal agency that supports fundamental research and education across all fields of science and engineering. In fiscal year (FY) 2018, its budget is $7.8 billion. NSF funds reach all 50 states through grants to nearly 2,000 colleges, universities and other institutions. Each year, NSF receives more than 50,000 competitive proposals for funding and makes about 12,000 new funding awards.

mail icon Get News Updates by Email 

Useful NSF Web Sites:
NSF Home Page:
NSF News:
For the News Media:
Science and Engineering Statistics:
Awards Searches: