Skip to main content
Email Print Share

SBE Advisory Committee Members

Dr. Kenneth Bollen (Chair)
H.R. Immerwahr Distinguished Professor
Department of Psychology and Neuroscience
Department of Sociology
CB 3210, Hamilton Hall
University of North Carolina
Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3210
Phone: (919) 962-7501
Fax: (919) 962-7568
Email: bollen@unc.edu
Web Site and BIO
Appointment Date: Spring 2012
Term Expiration Date: Fall 2018

Dr. Joseph Altonji
Thomas DeWitt Cuyler Professor of Economics
Economics Department
P.O. Box 208264
Yale University
New Haven, CT 06520-8264
Phone: (203) 432-6285
Fax: (203) 432-6323
Email: joseph.altonji@yale.edu
Web Site and BIO
Assistant: Rebecca Stevens
Phone: (203) 432-3560
Email: Rebecca.Stevens@yale.edu
Appointment Date: Spring 2015
Term Expiration Date: Fall 2017

Dr. Karen Cook
Ray Lyman Wilbur Professor of Sociology
Director of the Institute for Research in the Social Sciences (IRiSS)
Vice-Provost for Faculty Development and Diversity
Department of Sociology
450 Serra Mall
Building 120, Room 238/240
Stanford University
Stanford, CA 94305-2047
Phone: (650) 723-1194 or 725-8471
Fax: (650) 725-6471
Email: kcook@stanford.edu
Web Site and BIO
Assistant: Pamm Moore
Phone: (650) 736-0384
Email: pamm@stanford.edu
Appointment Date: Fall 2014
Term Expiration Date: Spring 2017

Dr. Nilanjana Dasgupta
Professor, Psychological & Brain Sciences
Director, Faculty Equity & Inclusion College of Natural Sciences
University of Massachusetts Amherst, MA 01003
Phone: (413) 545-0049
Fax: (413) 545-0996
Email: dasgupta@psych.umass.edu
Web Site
Appointment Date: Spring 2015
Term Expiration Date: Fall 2017

Dr. Ruth DeFries
Denning Family Professor of Sustainable Development
Department of Ecology, Evolution & Environmental Biology, E3B
Columbia University
1014 Schermerhorn Extension
1200 Amsterdam Avenue, MC5557
New York, NY 10027
Phone: (212) 851-1647
Fax: (212) 854-8188
Email: rd2402@columbia.edu
Web Site and BIO
Appointment Date: Fall 2013
Term Expiration Date: Spring 2018

Dr. Catherine Eckel
Sarah and John Lindsey Professor in the Liberal Arts and University Distinquished Professor
Department of Economics
3052 Allen Building
Texas A&M University
College Station, TX 77843
Phone: (979) 845-8506
Email: ceckel@econmail.tamu.edu
Web Site and BIO
Appointment Date: Spring 2015
Term Expiration Date: Fall 2017

Dr. Martha J. Farah
Walter H. Annenberg Professor of Natural Sciences
Director, Center for Neuroscience & Society
University of Pennsylvania
3720 Walnut Street
Philadelphia, PA, 19104
Phone: (215) 573-3531
Fax: (215) 898-1982
Email: mfarah@neuroethics.upenn.edu
2nd Email: mfarah@psych.upenn.edu
Web Site and BIO
Appointment Date: Fall 2014
Term Expiration Date: Spring 2017

Dr. John Gabrieli
Grover Hermann Professor of Health Sciences and Technology and Cognitive Neuroscience and Director, Athinoula A. Martinos Imaging Center at the McGovern Institute
Department of Brain and Cognitive Sciences
43 Vassar Street, 46-4033, MIT
Cambridge, MA 02139
Phone: (617) 253-8956
Cell: (617) 960-7479
Email: gabrieli@mit.edu
Web Site and BIO
Assistant: Olga Vieira
Phone: (617) 324-2896
Email: ovieira@mit.edu
Appointment Date: Fall 2015
Term Expiration Date: Spring 2018

Professor Arthur Lupia
Center for Political Studies
Hal R. Varian Professor
Department of Political Science
Institute for Social Research (ISR)
University of Michigan
426 Thompson Street, Room 4464
Ann Arbor, MI 48104-2321
Phone: (734) 647-7549
Cell: (734) 277-0212
Fax: (734) 764-3341
Email: lupia@umich.edu
Web Site and BIO
Appointment Date: Fall 2015
Term Expiration Date: Spring 2018

Dr. Thomas McDade
Carlos Montezuma Professor of Anthropology and Director of Cells to Society (C2S): The Center on Social Disparities and Health at the Institute for Policy Research
Professor of Anthropology and Faculty Fellow, Institute for Policy Research
Northwestern University
1810 Hinman Avenue
Evanston, IL 60202
Phone: (847) 467-4304
Fax: (847) 467-1778
Email: t-mcdade@northwestern.edu
Web Site and BIO
Appointment Date: Spring 2015
Term Expiration Date: Fall 2017

Dr. Jennifer Richeson
Philip R. Allen Professor of Psychology
Department of Psychology
Yale University
Box 208205
New Haven, CT 06520-8205
Phone:  (203) 432-4500
Fax:  (203) 432-7172
Email:  jennifer.richeson@yale.edu
Web Site and BIO
Appointment Date: Fall 2016
Term Expiration Date: Spring 2019

Dr. William Riley (EX OFFICIO)
Office of Behavioral and Social Sciences Research
Office of the Director
National Institutes of Health
31 Center Drive, Room B1-C19
Bethesda, MD 20892
Phone: (301) 402-1146
Fax: (301) 402-1150
Email: William.Riley@nih.gov
BIO
Assistant: Attallah Page
Email: attallah.page@nih.gov
Phone: (301) 435-1982
Appointment Date: Fall 2014
Term Expiration: Spring 2017

Dr. Linda B. Smith
Distinguished Professor and Chancellor's Professor
Psychological and Brain Sciences
1101 East 10th Street
Indiana University
Blooimington, IN 47405
Phone: (812) 219-4961
Email: smith4@indiana.edu
2nd Email: lindiana@icloud.com
Web Site and BIO
Assistant: Charlotte Wozniak
Phone: (812)855-8256
Email: chwoznia@indiana.edu
Appointment Date: Spring 2016
Term Expiration Date: Fall 2018

Dr. Lydia Villa-Komaroff (CEOSE Liaison)
Board Member
Cytonome/ST, LLC, ATCC
Massachusetts Life Science Center
Phone: (617) 323-7476
Email: lv-k@comcast.net
BIO
Appointment Date: Spring 2015
Term Expiration Date: Spring 2018