Email Print Share
NSF Congressional Highlight

New Congress Convenes and Must Take Up FY 2007 Appropriations

January 4, 2007

The 110th Congress convened on Jan. 4, 2007, and history was made with the election of the first woman Speaker of the House, Rep. Nancy Pelosi (D-CA).

Earlier, the leaders of the House and Senate committees were named. They included Rep. Bart Gordon (D-TN) as the new chairman of the House Science Committee, and Rep. Ralph Hall (R-TX) as the committee's ranking Republican. The committee's subcommittees have not been announced yet.

On the Senate side, Sen. Daniel K. Inouye (D-HI) is the chairman of the Committee on Commerce, Science and Transportation, and Sen. Ted Stevens (R-AK) is the ranking Republican and co-chairman. Sen. Bill Nelson (D-FL) chairs the Subcommittee on Science and Space, and Sen. Kay Bailey Hutchison (R-TX) is the ranking Republican.

Within the next few weeks, the new Congress will have to act on legislation to fund most of the federal government for the 2007 fiscal year that began on Oct. 1, 2006. The previous Congress finished work on only two of the annual appropriations bills, providing funding for the Departments of Defense and Homeland Security. The National Science Foundation and much of the rest of the federal government have been operating under a series of stop-gap measures, known as continuing resolutions. The current continuing resolution runs through Feb. 15, 2007.

See also: Dear Colleague letter, "Effect of a Long-term Continuing Resolution on NSF Programs".

For information related to previous Congresses, see: