Email Print Share
NSF Congressional Highlight

House Science Committee Leaders Named for the 111th Congress

January 29, 2009

The House Science and Technology Committee held an organizational meeting on January 28, 2009, and finalized subcommittee assignments. Earlier, on Jan. 6, Rep. Bart Gordon (D-TN) and Rep. Ralph M. Hall (R-TX) were named chair and ranking Republican, respectively, of the full Science Committee.

The subcommittees, chairs and ranking members are as follows:

  • Subcommittee on Technology and Innovation
    (Chair: David Wu, D-OR; Ranking Member: Adrian Smith, R-NE);

  • Subcommittee on Energy and Environment
    (Chair: Brian Baird, D-WA; Ranking Member: Bob Inglis, R-SC);

  • Subcommittee on Investigations and Oversight
    (Chair: Brad Miller, D-NC; Ranking Member: Paul Broun, R-GA);

  • Subcommittee on Research and Science Education
    (Chair: Daniel Lipinski, D-IL; Ranking Member: Vernon Ehlers, R-MI);

  • Subcommittee on Space and Aeronautics
    (Chair: Gabrielle Giffords, D-AZ; Ranking Member: Pete Olson, R-TX)

Additonal information on subcommittee assignments and the Science Committee's agenda for the 111th Congress are available on the Committee website.

For information related to previous Congresses, see: