

Office of Science and Technology Policy Executive Office of the President

New Executive Office Building Washington, DC 20502

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE May 29, 2007

Contact: Kristin Scuderi (202) 456-6124 kscuderi@ostp.eop.gov

PRESIDENT BUSH ANNOUNCES THE RECIPIENTS OF THE 2005 NATIONAL MEDAL OF SCIENCE

WASHINGTON-- Today President George W. Bush announced the recipients of the Nation's highest honor for science, naming the recipients of the 2005 National Medal of Science.

The National Medal of Science honors individuals for pioneering scientific research in a range of fields, including physical, biological, mathematical, social, behavioral, and engineering sciences, that enhances our understanding of the world and leads to innovations and technologies that give the United States its global economic edge. The National Science Foundation administers the award, which was established by the Congress in 1959. For more information about the National Medal of Science visit www.nsf.gov/nsb/awards/nms/medal.htm.

The 2005 National Medal of Science Laureates:

Jan D. Achenbach, Northwestern University – Evanston, IL Ralph A. Alpher, The Dudley Observatory, Schenectady, New York Gordon H. Bower, Stanford University – Stanford, CA Bradley Efron, Stanford University – Stanford, CA Anthony S. Fauci, National Institute of Health – Washington, DC Tobin J. Marks, Northwestern University – Evanston, IL Lonnie G. Thompson, Ohio State University – Columbus, OH Torsten N. Wiesel, The Rockefeller University – New York, NY