Skip to main content
Email Print Share

The President's National Medal of Science: Recipient Details

Stephen J. Lippard

Title: Arthur Amos Noyes Professor
Affiliation:   Massachusetts Institute of Technology
    Department of Chemistry
    Cambridge, Massachusetts 02138 USA
Gender:   Male

divider line
Award Discipline:   Chemistry
Award Year:   2004
Citation:   "For pioneering research in bioinorganic chemistry, which enriched our understanding of how metal compounds interact with DNA, provided important synthetic models for the active sites of metalloproteins, and elucidated key structural and mechanistic features of methane monooxygenase."
    Presented by President George W. Bush in a White House East Room ceremony on February 13, 2006.


Search Again