Email Print Share

National Medal of Science


The National Medal of Science was established by the 86th Congress in 1959 as a Presidential Award to be given to individuals "deserving of special recognition by reason of their outstanding contributions to knowledge in the physical, biological, mathematical, or engineering sciences." In 1980, Congress expanded this recognition to include the social and behavioral sciences.

A Committee of distinguished scientists and engineers is appointed by the President to evaluate the nominees for the Award. Since its establishment, the National Medal of Science has been awarded to 506 distinguished scientists and engineers whose careers spanned decades of research and development. The recipients database from 1962 to the present can be searched at


For information about submitting nominations, please select the Nomination Information item from the menu at the left.  Nominations may be submitted through an online portal at:

Ceremony Videos

To view videos from past National Medal of Science ceremonies, please access the NMS video gallery at


For additional information, please e-mail