Public Agenda

Committee on Programs and Plans - NSB Meeting

Public visitors must arrange for a visitor's badge in advance. Call 703-292-7000 to request your badge, which will be ready for pick-up at the visitor's desk on the day of the meeting.

National Science Foundation
August 6, 2007 Closed, 1:30 p.m. - 5:00 p.m.
August 7, 2007 Open, 2:45 pm. - 4:45 p.m.
Room 1235


Closed Session Monday, August 6, 2007 (1:30 p.m. - 5:00 p.m.)

  1. NSB Information Item: Portfolio of proposed High-Performance Computing (HPC) awards

  2. NSB Action Item: HPC Track 1: Petascale

  3. NSB Action Item: HPC Track 2: Path to Petascale

  4. HPCOPS Overview: High-Performance Computing for Science and Engineering Research & Education: Operations (User Support, System Administration and Maintenance) (HPCOPS)

  5. NSB Action Item: HPCOPS Awards

  6. NSB Action Item: National High Magnetic Field Laboratory (NHMFL)

  7. NSB Action Item: Advanced Technology Solar Telescope (ATST)


Open Session Tuesday, August 7, 2007 (2:45 p.m. - 4:45 p.m.)

  1. Approval of May 8, 2007 CPP Minutes

  2. Committee Chairman's Remarks

  3. Status Reports:
    • Subcommittee on Polar Issues: Dr. Barry Barish
    • Task Force on International Science: Draft Report and Recommendations. Dr. Jon Strauss
    • Task Force on Transformative Research: Dr. Doug Randall

  4. Discussion Item: Future Plans for the ad hoc Task Group on Sustainable Energy
         NSB Discussant: Dr. Jon Strauss

  5. Discussion Item: NSB/DRB Thresholds
         NSF Discussant: Mr. Tom Cooley

  6. Discussion Item: NSB Policy on Recompetition of NSF Awards
         NSB Discussant: Dr. Louis Lanzerotti

  7. Discussion Item: Facilities Operations and Management
         NSB Discussant: Dr. Mark Abbott

  8. Discussion Item: Major Research Facilities and Facility Plan
         NSF Presenter: Dr. Kathie Olsen

  9. NSB Item: Examination of Priority Order of MREFC New Starts

  10. Committee Chairman's Remarks


Sonya Mallinoff
Executive Secretary