Public Agenda

Committee on Programs and Plans - NSB Meeting

Public visitors must arrange for a visitor's badge in advance. Call 703-292-7000 to request your badge, which will be ready for pick-up at the visitor's desk on the day of the meeting.

University of Alaska,
September 22, 2008
8:10 - 11:15 a.m. Open
1:30 p.m. - 2:15 p.m. Closed

Open Session: 8:10 a.m. - 11:15 a.m.

  1. Approval of Minutes

  2. Committee Chairman's Remarks

  3. 3. Task Force on Sustainable Energy (SE):
      Drs. Dan Arvizu & Jon Strauss, SE Co-Chairmen
      Ms. Tami Tamashiro, SE Executive Secretary

    1. Task Force Co-Chairmen's Remarks
    2. Discussion and Summary of September 4, 2008 Roundtable Discussion
    3. Discussion of Possible Recommendations for Inclusion in a Draft Report
    4. Discussion of Upcoming Task Force Activities

  4. NSB Information Item: National Nanotechnology Infrastructure Network (NNIN)

  5. Review of NSF Major Research Facilities and MREFC Process:
    Major Research Facilities and Facility Plan: Horizon Projects; Maintenance and Operations Planning for Large Facilities; and Policy Issues

    Review of MREFC Process


Closed Session: 1:30 p.m. - 2:15 p.m.

  1. Chair's Remarks

  2. NSB Information Item: National Astronomy and Ionosphere Center (NAIC)

  3. NSB Action Item: Management and Operations of the National Optical Astronomy Observatory and the National Solar Observatory


Sonya Mallinoff
Executive Secretary