Public Agenda

Committee on Programs and Plans - NSB Meeting

Public visitors must arrange for a visitor's badge in advance. Call 703-292-7000 to request your badge, which will be ready for pick-up at the visitor's desk on the day of the meeting.

National Science Foundation
August 5, 2009
8:35 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. and 1:00 p.m. - 5:15 p.m.
Room 1235

Open Session: 8:35 a.m. - 10:45 a.m.

  1. Approval of May 4, 2009 and May 27, 2009 CPP Minutes

  2. Committee Chairman's Remarks
      Dr. Kelvin Droegemeier, CPP Chairman

  3. Report from Task Force on Sustainable Energy
      Dr. Dan Arvizu & Dr. Jon Strauss, Co-Chairs

  4. Subcommittee on Polar Issues (SOPI):
      Dr. Jon Strauss, SOPI Chairman
      Dr. Joan Frye, SOPI Executive Secretary

    1. SOPI Chairman's Remarks
    2. Director's Report - Office of Polar Programs
    3. Developments in Regional Climate Modeling
    4. Restrictions on Fuels for Southern Ocean Shipping

  5. NSB Information Item: National Ecological Observatory Network (NEON)

  6. NSB Information Item: NSF Data Policy Discussion

  7. NSB Information Item: Management and Operation of the Gemini Observatory

BREAK (10:45 a.m. - 11:00 a.m.)

Closed Session: 11:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.

  1. Committee Chairman's Remarks

  2. NSB Information Item: Operations for Future Coherent Light Source R&D

BREAK (Lunch, 12:00 p.m. - 1:00 p.m.)

Closed Session: 1:00 p.m. - 3:00 p.m.

  1. NSB Information Item: Status of Track-2 Award

  2. NSB Action Item: TeraGrid Extension: Bridging to XD

  3. NSB Action Item: George E. Brown, Jr., Network for Earthquake Engineering Simulation (NEES) Operations

BREAK (3:00 p.m. - 3:15 p.m.)

Closed Session: 3:15 p.m. - 5:15 p.m.

  1. NSB Action Item: Preliminary Design for the Deep Underground Science and Engineering Laboratory (DUSEL)

  2. NSB Action Item: Approval of Construction Funding for the Advanced Technology Solar Telescope (ATST)


Sonya Mallinoff
Executive Secretary