Public Meeting Schedule

September 24, 2010
National Science Foundation
Black Hills State University
Spearfish, South Dakota


Friday, September 24

Executive Closed
7:45 a.m.
  1. Approval of Executive Closed Session Minutes, May 2010 (NSB-10-30)

  2. Election of Executive Committee Member (NSB-07-53 and NSB/NOMCOM-07-1)
8:00 a.m.
  1. Chairman's Introduction and Welcome from Dr. Kay Schallenkamp, President, Black Hills State University

  2. Chairman's Report

  3. Director's Report
8:30 a.m.
  1. Presentations from Tribal College Presidents:
    Moderator: Dr. Jody Chase, National Science Foundation, Program Director, Tribal Colleges and Universities Program (TCUP)
        - Dr. Lionel R. Bordeaux, Sinte Gleska University (Invited)
        - Dr. Diana Canku, Sisseton Wahpeton College
        - Mr. Thomas Shortbull, Oglala Lakota College
        - Dr. Laurel Vermillion, Sitting Bull College
9:30 a.m. Break
9:45 a.m
  1. Overview of South Dakota Science and Engineering Research
    Introduction: Dr. Jack Warner, Executive Director, SD Board of Regents
    Presenter: Dr. Gary Johnson, System VP of Research, SD Board of Regents
10:05 a.m.
  1. Discussion on Research at South Dakota's Institutions of Higher Learning
    Discussion Leader: Dr. Gary Johnson, System Vice President of Research, SD Board of Regents
        - Dr. Duane Hrncir, Provost/Vice Pres. for
          Academic Affairs, South Dakota School of Mines
          and Technology
        - Dr. Laura Jenski, Vice President for Research,
          University of South Dakota
        - Dr. Kevin Kephart, Vice President for Research,
          South Dakota State University
        - Dr. Jack Warner, Executive Director, SD Board
          of Regents
11:00 a.m.
  1. Broad Impact of Deep Underground Science and Engineering Laboratory (DUSEL) on South Dakota Graduate Education in Physics
    Presenter: Dr. Robert Wharton, President, South Dakota School of Mines and Technology
11:20 a.m.
  1. Integrative Graduate Education and Research Traineeship (IGERT) Program in South Dakota
    Presenter: Dr. Mary Berry, Professor and Chairman of the Department of Chemistry, University of South Dakota
11:40 a.m.
  1. Chairman's Closing Remarks
11:45 a.m. Adjourn



Ray M. Bowen
Michael L. Van Woert
Executive Officer