Skip to main content
Email Print Share
Division of Physics

Division of Physics: Investigator-Initiated Research Projects  (PHY)

CONTACTS
Name Email Phone Room
Vyacheslav (Slava)  Lukin vlukin@nsf.gov (703) 292-7382   
Alex  Cronin acronin@nsf.gov (703) 292-5302   
John  Gillaspy jgillasp@nsf.gov (703) 292-7173   
Michael  J. Cavagnero mcavagne@nsf.gov (703) 292-2163   
Bogdan  Mihaila bmihaila@nsf.gov (703) 292-8235   
Saul  Gonzalez Martirena sgonzale@nsf.gov (703) 292-2093   
James  Shank jshank@nsf.gov (703) 292-8343   
Keith  R. Dienes kdienes@nsf.gov (703) 292-5314   
Pedro  Marronetti pmarrone@nsf.gov (703) 292-7372   
Kathleen  McCloud kmccloud@nsf.gov (703) 292-8236   
Kenneth  Hicks khicks@nsf.gov (703) 292-8095   
Allena  K. Opper aopper@nsf.gov (703) 292-8958   
Jean  Cottam Allen jcallen@nsf.gov (703) 292-8783   
James  Whitmore jwhitmor@nsf.gov (703) 292-8908   
Krastan  B. Blagoev kblagoev@nsf.gov (703) 292-4666   
Mark  Coles mcoles@nsf.gov (703) 292-4432   

PROGRAM GUIDELINES

Solicitation  16-566

Important Information for Proposers

A revised version of the NSF Proposal & Award Policies & Procedures Guide (PAPPG) (NSF 16-1), is effective for proposals submitted, or due, on or after January 25, 2016. Please be advised that, depending on the specified due date, the guidelines contained in NSF 16-1 may apply to proposals submitted in response to this funding opportunity.


DUE DATES

Full Proposal Deadline Date:  October 26, 2016

Physics of Living Systems

Fourth Wednesday in October, Annually Thereafter

Full Proposal Deadline Date:  October 26, 2016

Atomic Molecular and Optical Physics - Experiment and Theory; Elementary Particle Physics - Experiment; Gravitational Physics - Experiment and Theory; Integrative Activities in Physics; and Particle Astrophysics - Experiment

Last Wednesday in October, Annually Thereafter

Full Proposal Deadline Date:  November 11, 2016

Nuclear Physics - Experiment and Theory

Second Friday in November, Annually Thereafter

Full Proposal Deadline Date:  December 1, 2016

Elementary Particle Physics - Theory; Particle Astrophysics and Cosmology - Theory; Quantum Information Science

First Thursday in December, Annually Thereafter

Full Proposal Deadline Date:  February 1, 2017

Accelerator Science

First Wednesday in February, Annually Thereafter


SYNOPSIS

The Division of Physics (PHY) supports physics research and education in the nation’s colleges and universities across a broad range of physics disciplines that span scales of space and time from the largest to the smallest and the oldest to the youngest.  The Division is comprised of disciplinary programs covering experimental and theoretical research in the following major subfields of physics: Accelerator Science; Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics; Computational Physics; Elementary Particle Physics; Gravitational Physics; Integrative Activities in Physics; Nuclear Physics; Particle Astrophysics; Physics of Living Systems; Plasma Physics (supported under a separate solicitation); and Quantum Information Science.

Additional Information

The Physics Division strongly encourages single proposal submission for possible co-review rather than multiple submissions of proposals with slight differences to several programs. 

FUNDED AS PART OF THIS ACTIVITY

Accelerator Science

Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics - Theory

Elementary Particle Physics - Experiment

Gravitational Physics - Experiment

Gravitational Physics - Theory

Nuclear Physics - Theory

Particle Astrophysics - Experiment

Quantum Information Science

REVISIONS AND UPDATES

THIS PROGRAM IS PART OF


What Has Been Funded (Recent Awards Made Through This Program, with Abstracts)

Map of Recent Awards Made Through This Program