CISE Announce: Appointment of Henry Kautz as Division Director for CISE's Information and Intelligent Systems

April 26, 2018

The message below was sent to the CISE Announce Listserv on Wednesday, April 25, 2018. 

Dear CISE Colleagues,

We are delighted to announce the appointment of Dr. Henry Kautz as the Division Director for our Division of Information and Intelligent Systems (IIS), effective June 11, 2018.

Henry will be joining NSF/CISE from the University of Rochester, where he is a professor and the founding director of the Goergen Institute for Data Science. Previously, he was chair of the computer science department at the University of Rochester; professor of computer science at the University of Washington, Seattle; and department head at AT&T Bell Labs in Murray Hill, NJ. He is a world-renowned leader in artificial intelligence, pervasive computing, and healthcare applications.

In 2010, Henry was elected President of the Association for the Advancement of Artificial Intelligence (AAAI), and in 2016, he was elected Chair of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) Section on Information, Computing, and Communication.

Henry has co-authored hundreds of technical publications, conference proceedings, and journal special issues throughout his career. He has been Principal Investigator (PI) or co-PI on grants from NSF; the Department of Defense (DoD) including the Army Research Office (ARO), Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA), Office of Naval Research (ONR), and Office of the Secretary of Defense (OSD); National Institutes of Health (NIH); Intel Corporation; and Eastman Kodak Company. He has served on the editorial boards and organizing committees of several journals and international conferences and workshops.

Henry has received a number of honors throughout his career, including the International Joint Conference on Artificial Intelligence (IJCAI) Computers & Thought Award, Ubiquitous Computing (Ubicomp) Conference 10-Year Impact Award, AAAI Classic Paper Award, and Conference on Innovative Applications of Artificial Intelligence (IAAI) Deployed Application Award. His work has been recognized with numerous Best Paper and Notable Paper awards. He is a Fellow of the AAAS, the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM), and the AAAI.

Henry received an A.B. degree in mathematics from Cornell University, M.A. in writing seminars from The Johns Hopkins University, M.S. in computer science from the University of Toronto, and Ph.D. in computer science from the University of Rochester.

We would also like to take this opportunity to thank Howard Wactlar for his outstanding service as Acting Division Director for IIS since February 2017. Howard, who is completing his second tour of duty with CISE/IIS (he previously led the division from 2010 to 2014), has stewarded the division’s engagement in a number of critically important cross-Foundation activities over the last year. For example, he has served as co-chair of the Future of Work at the Human-Technology Frontier (FW-HTF) Steering Committee, helping to drive this “Big Idea for Future NSF Investment” forward; he also led a major revision of the NSF-wide Cyberlearning for Work at the Human-Technology Frontier program, transitioning its focus toward continuous education and adult retraining in the face of emerging technologies such as artificial intelligence (AI). Howard was also instrumental in briefings to Congressional and White House staff on AI research and development. Upon Henry’s arrival, Howard will transition to the CISE Office of the Assistant Director, where he will serve as Senior Advisor.

Please join us in welcoming Henry and thanking Howard for all his contributions to IIS, CISE, and NSF!


Jim and Erwin

Jim Kurose, Assistant Director (AD) of NSF for CISE

Erwin Gianchandani, Deputy AD of NSF for CISE


Information about the CISE Announce listserv:
* If you do not wish to receive these emails, you can unsubscribe at any time by sending an email to
* Anyone interested in subscribing can join by sending an email to

Special thanks to the search committee members who helped to identify candidates for this important position: Greg Hager, Johns Hopkins University; Eric Horvitz, Microsoft Research; Andrew Moore, Carnegie Mellon University; Beth Mynatt, Georgia Institute of Technology; Daniela Rus, Massachusetts Institute of Technology ; Marjorie Skubic, University of Missouri; and Rao Kosaraju, who served as the NSF Liaison to Search Committee.

This news was also posted by the University of Rochester.


The U.S. National Science Foundation propels the nation forward by advancing fundamental research in all fields of science and engineering. NSF supports research and people by providing facilities, instruments and funding to support their ingenuity and sustain the U.S. as a global leader in research and innovation. With a fiscal year 2023 budget of $9.5 billion, NSF funds reach all 50 states through grants to nearly 2,000 colleges, universities and institutions. Each year, NSF receives more than 40,000 competitive proposals and makes about 11,000 new awards. Those awards include support for cooperative research with industry, Arctic and Antarctic research and operations, and U.S. participation in international scientific efforts.

mail icon Get News Updates by Email 

Connect with us online
NSF website:
NSF News:
For News Media:
Awards database:

Follow us on social